Strawberry-Mango Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Great recipe with some modifications. It's true the mango/strawberry filling is pretty thin in the pot, but just add a corn starch blend to thicken it up (I shake cornstarch with enough water to mix it well and then add to the pot). If you pour off the liquid, you'll lose most of the mangos! A tablespoon of cinnamon and nutmeg? I used a teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp of nutmeg. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I just made this and because other reviewers said it was too runny I added 2 TBL pf tapioca. Just what it needed. Slices into nice pieces. Also, Maybe my mango's were to small so i didn't seem to have enough filling for my pan so after I'd already put it in the pie shell I stirred in about 1/2 cup of fresh blue berries. Also used 1 tsp of nutmeg instead of 1 TBL in the topping. Oh boy! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This is super easy and amazing. Every time I make it people are blown away and go back for more. I have never had leftovers of this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Did not like at all! Fruit was rubbery and filling was very runny. Crust got mushy underneath. Nutmeg was very overpowering in crumble. One of the worst pies I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenpear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I was wondering if someone knows if this pie filling could be canned My mangoes were a little tart although very ripe and it reminded me of rhubarb strawberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This pie has been a hit every single time I've made it. I cut down the nutmeg and added more of the crumbly stuff on top. I also made homemade whipped cream with almond extract and a little lemon juice to dallop on top. SO GOOD. This recipe will definitely be used and abused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
4-stars for taste; 3-stars for presentation This pie has very good flavor, but the next time I make it I will drain the liquid off the mango-strawberry mixture before putting it in the pie shell. I waited to cut the pie until it had completely cooled and there was too much liquid which resulted in a soggy crust. This made it very hard to lift out nice looking pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This pie was good, but I wouldn't say amazing. I did alter the recipe according to what I had on hand, but I don't think it this had much impact on the final result. I used lemon and lime juice instead of apple juice because that's all I had. I had an 8" pie crust so I ended up getting rid of all the excess liquid that was left with the cooked mango and strawberries. I also omitted the nutmeg. I thought there was way too much crumb mixture (even though I didn't use all of it). If I was to do this pie again, I would probably not do the crumb mixture and just use a regular pie crust on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Fantastic! Delicious! Recipe was easy to follow and true to amounts. I personally like a little more of the crumb mixture so I just made more and added it. I also added a bit of orange juice when simmering the mangoes and strawberries... it adds a nice thick sort of glaze to the fruit as it reduces. Just options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I'm not sure what went wrong with this, because I feel like I made this just as the recipe said. Although I took the nutmeg down to 1/2 T instead. During the cooking of the strawberries and mango mixture, I thought it was delightful. I now wish I had just stopped there and served it over ice cream instead. Instead, the topping just ended up so overbearing in both proportion to the filling and in taste. Not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Three Berry Pie

Turn strawberries, raspberries, and blueberries into sweet, delicious pie!

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States