Strawberry-Mango Mesclun Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I was in a hurry to get out of here after lunch, so I forgot to add both the dried cranberries and the almonds...had both on hand, too. It was wonderful without them, but would have been even better with them. I did use white balsamic vinegar for a little milder-flavor dressing, and probably did cut back just a bit on the sugar. I’ve always liked the combination of strawberries and fresh mango in a smoothie, and they partner equally well in this salad. Thoroughly enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
Loved the ingredients, but I changed up the dressing as half a cup of sugar seemed like overkill. Instead, I used 2 tbsp of apple cider vinegar, a splash of olive oil, salt, pepper, and half a tsp of honey. Drizzled a tiny bit of dressing on top and without the greens, it almost tasted like a dessert salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Fabulous. Glad I read reviews first. I'm consolidating other reader's suggestions here, which I followed and got good results 1. Use equal parts EVOO and balsamic (half cup each) 2. Reduce sugar to 1/3 or 1/4 cup 3. Toast the almonds first I added kiwi because I had it and did not use dried cranberries. Avocado would be a good addition instead of the kiwi. Great flavor, and leftovers were great as a marinated fruit salad, after discarding the wilted lettuce. Will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I first had this salad at the Buckeye Bash 2012 prepared by Saveur631. It was fantastic! I have since made it on 3 occasions. It not only tastes wonderful, but the presentation is beautiful with the colors of strawberries, mango, cranberries, greens. If you are looking for a delicious summer salad, look no further than this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
What a yummy salad with a beautiful presentation you have here! I made this for the 2012 Buckeye luncheon, and received many compliments. I used less onion, just sliced red onion paper thin, and made toasted sugared almonds. The dressing is excellent! A great pot luck salad, for sure. I'll make this many more times. Thanks for sharing with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
wonderful salad that is incredibly versatile; we've had to substitute cranberries with rasins, and sunflower seeds instead of almonds and we still had a wonderful tasting salad. The recipe, also as written is delicious. Making it again this weekend for my father's birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
This was a very tasty dressing and salad. I only used about 1 1/2 T of sugar and equal parts balsamic and olive oil. I didn't have strawberries so I used 2 mangos and 2 handfuls of blueberries and 2 handfuls of Craisins. About 1/2 c of sliced almonds did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This is the best salad I've had in a long time. The dressing is especially delicious and goes a long way. I ended up with most of the dressing left over which was fine with me. The only change I made was to omit the almonds and add candied walnuts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was a great salad. The first time we made it we made it according to the recipe adding some extra strawberries and going heavy on the balsamic vinegar. We also added an avocado. The second time we forgot the cranberries but there wasn't really a noticeable difference. In the future I think I'll continue to nix the cranberries and add avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
i love this salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States