Strawberry-Mango Mesclun Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING with alterations! My two and three year old loved it - as did my husband - I scaled the recipe down to 6 servings instead of 12. Recommended Alterations: Reverse the measurements for oil and balsamic vinegar and cut back on the sugar a bit (be sure to use olive oil and a good quality balsamic vinegar). ADD 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro (pairs well with the greens and fruit). Use RED onion, it's a better tasting onion when raw. Although I halved the recipe I still used 1/2 pound strawberries and 1 mango - so if you make the full batch I would recommend at least 1 pound strawberries and 2 mangoes. I plan to make this often for the summer and bring to potlucks too! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I thought I had made this recipe as written for the most part, but now that I look at it again, I realize that I forgot the cranberries. Whoops! It is still 5 stars. I toasted the almonds which brought out an awesome flavor. I used about 3/4 of a pound of strawberries instead of just 1/2 a pound. I used two bags of salad (greener selection & romaine). Next time I would decrease the oil, and increase the balsamic vinegar. This was a huge hit. It might be good with a little bit of chopped cilantro or basil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This salad was excellent. I really didn't change a thing except that I used splenda instead of real sugar. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
A *great* salad! I've served it a few times already, and it's gotten rave reviews. One time I couldn't get my hands on a mango, so I used an apple instead, to good effect. For a simpler dressing, try just straight balsamic vinagrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Absolutely delicious! I used EVOO instead of canola and cut it back to 1/2 cup to make it more healthy. I also used Splenda. It was excellent and a wonderful complement to our beef tenderloin and mushroom dinner. The colors are gorgeous on the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was very good and I will definitely make it again. I too used bottled balsamic viniagrette, used a Vidalia onion, and toasted my slivered almonds. Can't wait to share with all the girls!\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was a very good salad. I love the fresh fruit; makes it feel like summer! I used cashews instead of almonds because that's what I had. We also just used bottled balsamic vinegrette dressing. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Really good! Added an avocado, and toasted pinenuts instead of almonds. Also doubled the balsamic. Will make all summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I have been making this salad for a few months and it is always a HUGE hit. Last night, I made it with Whey-Low (a sugar substitute) and it tasted exactly the same as using sugar. I like to add any kind of seeds, including flax seed to it, for texture, in addition to the almonds. Add the dressing right before serving as it gets soggy if it sits to long. Regardless, there is never any salad left, soggy or not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I first had this salad at the Buckeye Bash 2012 prepared by Saveur631. It was fantastic! I have since made it on 3 occasions. It not only tastes wonderful, but the presentation is beautiful with the colors of strawberries, mango, cranberries, greens. If you are looking for a delicious summer salad, look no further than this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States