Strawberry-Mango Mesclun Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING with alterations! My two and three year old loved it - as did my husband - I scaled the recipe down to 6 servings instead of 12. Recommended Alterations: Reverse the measurements for oil and balsamic vinegar and cut back on the sugar a bit (be sure to use olive oil and a good quality balsamic vinegar). ADD 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro (pairs well with the greens and fruit). Use RED onion, it's a better tasting onion when raw. Although I halved the recipe I still used 1/2 pound strawberries and 1 mango - so if you make the full batch I would recommend at least 1 pound strawberries and 2 mangoes. I plan to make this often for the summer and bring to potlucks too! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I use 1/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup balsamic to meake it healthier, keep the sugar and salt. I also use 3/4 lb of strawberries and omit craberries, I don't think they are needed. This is great for a picnic! 16oz mixed greens from Costco is perfect size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
What a great summer recipe! I served it with Rosemary Chicken Couscous Salad from this site. I used Splenda and less olive oil to make it lighter, and I left out the onion although a sweet one might have been nice (didn't miss it though). This salad would be great with grilled chicken, and I think it might work with some fresh mint...and a nice mojito!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CIGALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This salad is great! I made it for two and forgot to change the serving size. Had lots of dressing so had the salad several times. Anxious to make it again and add a sliced, grilled chicken breast and serve as a nice summer meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Made this salad form Mom for Mother's Day and it wa s huge hit. We couldn't stop eating it. Substituted Splenda for the sugar, otherwise, made exactly as published. One could easily leave out the mango or cranberries without detracting from recipe, but we love those things so will keep them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I thought I had made this recipe as written for the most part, but now that I look at it again, I realize that I forgot the cranberries. Whoops! It is still 5 stars. I toasted the almonds which brought out an awesome flavor. I used about 3/4 of a pound of strawberries instead of just 1/2 a pound. I used two bags of salad (greener selection & romaine). Next time I would decrease the oil, and increase the balsamic vinegar. This was a huge hit. It might be good with a little bit of chopped cilantro or basil?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseau, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albertville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
This was a very good salad. I love the fresh fruit; makes it feel like summer! I used cashews instead of almonds because that's what I had. We also just used bottled balsamic vinegrette dressing. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This salad was excellent. I really didn't change a thing except that I used splenda instead of real sugar. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
An absolute hit. I served this at a party and everyone loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
This was very good and I will definitely make it again. I too used bottled balsamic viniagrette, used a Vidalia onion, and toasted my slivered almonds. Can't wait to share with all the girls!\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States