Strawberry-Mango Mesclun Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I've made this a couple of times when having company for dinner. It looks, and tastes, great. (Someone in an earlier review suggested substituting pinenuts, which I tried the 2nd time and prefer.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Awesome salad! I used EVOO instead of canola oil, did not use cranberries and substituted agave nectar for sugar. Really pretty, yummy salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
It's amazing that so few basic ingredients can come together to create such a delightful taste and texture experience. The only changes I made: I doubled the mango and strawberries and halved the cranberries, and I sliced the sweet onion thinly on a mandoline rather than chopping it. The only change I made to the dressing was to use olive oil instead of canola. The dressing came out wonderfully thick with a great sweet/tangy taste. I will use a little less sugar next time, but it was delicious as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Fabulous summer salad! I use bottled dressing, and it is always a hit. One of my very favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cassie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Fabulous! I've made this twice, both times recipe was requested by all. The only change I made was using mandarin oranges instead of a Mango. Oh, and I left out the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
FABULOUS. This was one of the best salads I have EVER had!!! I didnt have almonds so I substituted candied walnuts, and I also had a few dried apricots to use so I threw them in as well. It was easy and SO good, making it again tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My family fell in love with this recipe. I had also taken it to work for a pot luck get together. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This salad is absolutely fabulous, I brought it to work for a "food day" and everyone loved it. I too substituted olive oil for the canola oil and added extra balsamic vinegar to the dressing for more zing. I also used Almond Accents Butter Toffer Glazed Almonds and sprinkled Feta cheese on top for extra zip. Fantastic! Definitely a redo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Yummy! I had to do some substitutions for my taste and what I had on hand. I used a mix of spinach and fresh green leaf letuce from the farmer's market. Didn't have cranberries so I subbed dried gogi berries and only about half what was called for. I added about 3/4 C gorgonzola crumbles. Also used a good strong olive oil instead of canola and cut way down on the sugar using about 1-2Tbs. It was plenty sweet with the balsamic vinegar--actually really yummy dressing I'll make again for any salad with fruit in it. Oh yeah- toast the almonds for a nicer flavor. This was a delicious and beautiful salad. I couldn't stop eating it. In fact, I skipped my main course because I was enjoying this salad so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
This recipe is AMAZING with alterations! My two and three year old loved it - as did my husband - I scaled the recipe down to 6 servings instead of 12. Recommended Alterations: Reverse the measurements for oil and balsamic vinegar and cut back on the sugar a bit (be sure to use olive oil and a good quality balsamic vinegar). ADD 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro (pairs well with the greens and fruit). Use RED onion, it's a better tasting onion when raw. Although I halved the recipe I still used 1/2 pound strawberries and 1 mango - so if you make the full batch I would recommend at least 1 pound strawberries and 2 mangoes. I plan to make this often for the summer and bring to potlucks too! Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States