Strawberry-Mango Mesclun Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
AWESOME SALAD! My kids and guests love this salad. It is always gone before the meal is over! I half the amount of dressing and use only 3tbsp. of olive oil instead of canola oil. I refrigerate the dressing for a couple of hours for the flavors to blend and to thicken it up. (I find once it is thicker I end up using less dressing and the dressing sticks to the lettuce better.) Instead of the chopped onion, I usually add a thinly sliced red onion or scallions to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I've made this a couple of times when having company for dinner. It looks, and tastes, great. (Someone in an earlier review suggested substituting pinenuts, which I tried the 2nd time and prefer.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Awesome salad! I used EVOO instead of canola oil, did not use cranberries and substituted agave nectar for sugar. Really pretty, yummy salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
It's amazing that so few basic ingredients can come together to create such a delightful taste and texture experience. The only changes I made: I doubled the mango and strawberries and halved the cranberries, and I sliced the sweet onion thinly on a mandoline rather than chopping it. The only change I made to the dressing was to use olive oil instead of canola. The dressing came out wonderfully thick with a great sweet/tangy taste. I will use a little less sugar next time, but it was delicious as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Fabulous summer salad! I use bottled dressing, and it is always a hit. One of my very favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Johnson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Fabulous! I've made this twice, both times recipe was requested by all. The only change I made was using mandarin oranges instead of a Mango. Oh, and I left out the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
FABULOUS. This was one of the best salads I have EVER had!!! I didnt have almonds so I substituted candied walnuts, and I also had a few dried apricots to use so I threw them in as well. It was easy and SO good, making it again tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My family fell in love with this recipe. I had also taken it to work for a pot luck get together. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This salad is absolutely fabulous, I brought it to work for a "food day" and everyone loved it. I too substituted olive oil for the canola oil and added extra balsamic vinegar to the dressing for more zing. I also used Almond Accents Butter Toffer Glazed Almonds and sprinkled Feta cheese on top for extra zip. Fantastic! Definitely a redo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Yummy! I had to do some substitutions for my taste and what I had on hand. I used a mix of spinach and fresh green leaf letuce from the farmer's market. Didn't have cranberries so I subbed dried gogi berries and only about half what was called for. I added about 3/4 C gorgonzola crumbles. Also used a good strong olive oil instead of canola and cut way down on the sugar using about 1-2Tbs. It was plenty sweet with the balsamic vinegar--actually really yummy dressing I'll make again for any salad with fruit in it. Oh yeah- toast the almonds for a nicer flavor. This was a delicious and beautiful salad. I couldn't stop eating it. In fact, I skipped my main course because I was enjoying this salad so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States