Strawberry-Mango Mesclun Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
AWESOME SALAD! My kids and guests love this salad. It is always gone before the meal is over! I half the amount of dressing and use only 3tbsp. of olive oil instead of canola oil. I refrigerate the dressing for a couple of hours for the flavors to blend and to thicken it up. (I find once it is thicker I end up using less dressing and the dressing sticks to the lettuce better.) Instead of the chopped onion, I usually add a thinly sliced red onion or scallions to the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
I've made this a couple of times when having company for dinner. It looks, and tastes, great. (Someone in an earlier review suggested substituting pinenuts, which I tried the 2nd time and prefer.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Awesome salad! I used EVOO instead of canola oil, did not use cranberries and substituted agave nectar for sugar. Really pretty, yummy salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J.Flo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
It's amazing that so few basic ingredients can come together to create such a delightful taste and texture experience. The only changes I made: I doubled the mango and strawberries and halved the cranberries, and I sliced the sweet onion thinly on a mandoline rather than chopping it. The only change I made to the dressing was to use olive oil instead of canola. The dressing came out wonderfully thick with a great sweet/tangy taste. I will use a little less sugar next time, but it was delicious as is. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Fabulous summer salad! I use bottled dressing, and it is always a hit. One of my very favorite salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Johnson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Fabulous! I've made this twice, both times recipe was requested by all. The only change I made was using mandarin oranges instead of a Mango. Oh, and I left out the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
FABULOUS. This was one of the best salads I have EVER had!!! I didnt have almonds so I substituted candied walnuts, and I also had a few dried apricots to use so I threw them in as well. It was easy and SO good, making it again tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
My family fell in love with this recipe. I had also taken it to work for a pot luck get together. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This salad is absolutely fabulous, I brought it to work for a "food day" and everyone loved it. I too substituted olive oil for the canola oil and added extra balsamic vinegar to the dressing for more zing. I also used Almond Accents Butter Toffer Glazed Almonds and sprinkled Feta cheese on top for extra zip. Fantastic! Definitely a redo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Yummy! I had to do some substitutions for my taste and what I had on hand. I used a mix of spinach and fresh green leaf letuce from the farmer's market. Didn't have cranberries so I subbed dried gogi berries and only about half what was called for. I added about 3/4 C gorgonzola crumbles. Also used a good strong olive oil instead of canola and cut way down on the sugar using about 1-2Tbs. It was plenty sweet with the balsamic vinegar--actually really yummy dressing I'll make again for any salad with fruit in it. Oh yeah- toast the almonds for a nicer flavor. This was a delicious and beautiful salad. I couldn't stop eating it. In fact, I skipped my main course because I was enjoying this salad so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Spinach Salad I

This bright and tangy salad is sweet and savory, and just delicious.

Spinach and Strawberry Salad

Mix the colors and flavors of summer and enjoy.

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States