Strawberry Lemon Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Firstly I would like to thank Jenwee99 who recommended this recipe to me via RE when I posted a request for a recipe to use up some strawberries. I was a little concerned when I read a few of the previous reviews, but decided to give this recipe a try anyway. I did make a few changes. I used fresh instead of frozen strawberries, I used lemon juice, so didn’t add the zest. I used ½ cup of whole wheat flour and 1 & ¼ cup of AP Flour. I followed the recipe exactly but did add a few more chopped strawberries, and a sprinkling of brown sugar onto the top of the muffins before cooking. Just so pleased with the results, the muffins have a nice light texture and the taste is so refreshing. Thank you for sharing this recipe…
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This recipe for me had all my favorites! Wheat flour, lemons & strawberries....please if you don't like any of these ingredients just don't make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcaballero

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These were great, if you make them according to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
These were excellent! The fresh strawberries were so delicious in these muffins. I used a fresh-picked lemon from our tree and the combination of the lemon and strawberry flavors is just so nice! I used 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour and 1/2 cup rolled oats instead of the wheat flour called for in the recipe b/c I didn't have any. It worked out great! This is a keeper for us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I just made these, and they are really delicious. Instead of strawberries I added mixed berries and cherries. The texture is really good and there is just enough lemon. I found I had to add a little more flour because the dough was a bit thin. Also I used all white flour and no whole wheat. I'm really glad I made a double batch too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noelle Desiree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was a sweet little muffin with a delicate strawberry flavor. Very litte of the lemon came through - it's subtle, which surprised me. I did not find these tart in any way. I should add that to use up all my berries, I upped the strawberries to 2 cups. Very nice; I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is a great recipe! Super easy to make, and perfect for using up all those strawberries and lemons that have come into season right now. I added 1/2 tb of almond extract and a sprinkling of cinnamon and nutmeg. These muffins were delicious and made a great dessert with vanilla ice cream and fresh strawberries on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hklinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
i substituted oil for apple sauce and milk for low fat milk. I also added cinamon and vanilla essence.The first time i made them , i ended up over cooking them. Second time i used blueberries and orange but to my disappointment, they just don't taste good. i won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
they seemed a little light to us, not as much flavor as we would want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
The flavors were nice, I added 1tsp of cinnamon and 1tsp vanilla extract. Not too sweet, but the muffins were very dense and dry outside but still moist/uncooked inside (I baked them at 350C). If I try this recipe again I will try making mini-muffins instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States