Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I made 2 different batches of jam. Didn't firm up. Is there something that I should have done? I did use a food processor to cut up and smash the strawberries so I don't know if that had anything to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
My first time making jelly. Easy, very good taste , my family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I've never canned before and I want to try this recipe! How long can it be stored, and does it have to stay in the refrigerator? Stacey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
It's my favorite. Just what I was looking for. So simple, so delicious, I used 3 cups of sugar, will use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I thought I'd surprise my Wife with some easy to make jam but I think this recipes instructions are dangerous!!! I've tried to get this up to 220 degrees and it only gets to about 215. Every time I try to increase the flame even a little bit it boils over.Also, you can't stir it or it boils over. I've got a big mess to clean up now!!!! EDIT: I finally let it sit and cook and it finally got up to 220 so I turned it off. When it quit boiling, I found that there was a bunch of stuff stuck to the bottom, so I stirred it in with the rest of the jam. I hope it doesn't taste all burnt now ! Also, if you try to click to read the full review of other posters, nothing happens...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I will double the recipe next time as it only made 3 1/2 jelly jars. It took a while to get up to temp but had a good flavor and thickened up nicely. I put a little less sugar in and not quite 1/4 cup of lemon juice. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I've just made and processed my second batch. My husband declared the first batch "the best strawberry jam" he has "ever tasted". Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I offered to make jelly for my friends country wedding, and I used this recipe. I used frozen mix berries. I read through most of the comments, and did the following; used two cups of sugar, 1/8 cup of butter when it started to foam, the plate test, and using the rind, and turned jars upside down. I washed the jars in the dishwasher on the highest temp, and kept them on dry, to keep hot. It didn't foam, splatter or stick to the bottom. I stirred the whole time, was ready at the first plate test, which was about 15 minutes. It smelled amazing. I have to let other people taste it to see how it tastes, and set, but it was so easy I should be able to make 60 jars of jam in a day or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
My first time attempting jam, and this was super easy! I followed the advice from other reviews regarding jar sterilization and everything turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I don't have 2 pounds of strawberries, so I just halved the recipe. It still turned out great! I was really wishing I could make some fresh jam, not to be frozen or whatever, but rather just where we could have some today for lunch and supper, with maybe enough left over for toast in the morning. I didn't want to waste pectin for something short-term, but didn't know how to do it, until now. You can buy cheap jelly for less, but this will be fresh, and nothing added -- no artificial anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Supreme Strawberry Topping

Try this lightly sweetened fresh strawberry sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States