Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Great recipe with NO pectin! I never have pectin when I need it and it's really expensive but I was nervous using my fresh strawberries on an unknown. It turned out wonderfully. I did have to let it cook for around 1/2 hour til it reached 220 degrees but since I did, it gelled just fine. If others have issues, that's the reason-I used a candy thermometer. Yes, it's very sweet but I wouldn't change the amounts as it will affect the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
I made this today, I added some juice from jarred red peppers, gave it just a little heat and spice. It turned out great!! Will make this again soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWOMAN2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I'm making this recipe today for the THIRD time!! I LOVE IT! I got the biggest compliment, EVER when my 21 yr old son said "when I open this jar, it's just like Grandma is still here! It's JUST LIKE HERS!!" I just about cried, how wonderful being compared to a Grandma's cooking!! ?? ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
I made 2 different batches of jam. Didn't firm up. Is there something that I should have done? I did use a food processor to cut up and smash the strawberries so I don't know if that had anything to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
My first time making jelly. Easy, very good taste , my family love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I've never canned before and I want to try this recipe! How long can it be stored, and does it have to stay in the refrigerator? Stacey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
It's my favorite. Just what I was looking for. So simple, so delicious, I used 3 cups of sugar, will use less next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I thought I'd surprise my Wife with some easy to make jam but I think this recipes instructions are dangerous!!! I've tried to get this up to 220 degrees and it only gets to about 215. Every time I try to increase the flame even a little bit it boils over.Also, you can't stir it or it boils over. I've got a big mess to clean up now!!!! EDIT: I finally let it sit and cook and it finally got up to 220 so I turned it off. When it quit boiling, I found that there was a bunch of stuff stuck to the bottom, so I stirred it in with the rest of the jam. I hope it doesn't taste all burnt now ! Also, if you try to click to read the full review of other posters, nothing happens...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I will double the recipe next time as it only made 3 1/2 jelly jars. It took a while to get up to temp but had a good flavor and thickened up nicely. I put a little less sugar in and not quite 1/4 cup of lemon juice. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I've just made and processed my second batch. My husband declared the first batch "the best strawberry jam" he has "ever tasted". Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States