Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Great basic recipe but WAY too much sugar. That much sugar would overwhelm the yummy berries. The berries should be the focus. I used less than 1 cup because I wasn't sure what kind of consistency I would get. Next time, I would use just a .5 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is the easiest recipe for strawberry jam! So delicious! Love that I do not have to have sure-jell on hand! It sets great! Thank you for the great recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This recipe wasn't bad, but I thought it was too sweet. I will use this recipe again but with 3 or 3 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Good recipe. I doubled this recipe and only used 1 3/4 cup of sugar total! It would of been way to sweet. I liked the consistency, it's wasn't to gel like or super watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I had some organic strawberries from the store in the fridge which needed to be used. My strawberries are coming in now, and I can't bring myself to eat the ones from the store with lovely vine-ripe ones waiting for me! But I didn't want to waste them and decided to try some jam. I didn't have any pectin and didn't really want to use any and found this recipe here and in a few other places on-line otherwise, too. I had only 1 1/2 pounds of strawberries, so I adjusted to 3 cups of sugar but used the juice of a whole, large lemon. I didn't measure the juice. I got busy, and it cooked to about 230, but it turned out great anyway. Once I turned off the heat, I added some vanilla. Oh, and I didn't crush the strawberries, I just used them chopped. It will be a bit firmer than the orinal intended outcome, but the flavor is great, and I consider it a success. I got 2 full pints from my batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Super easy and so so yummy. I just made one adjustment the 2nd time I made it. I added a 1/4 cup lime juice as well as the lemon juice and the sweetness was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Excellent jam. I added a splash of Grand Marnier and some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Super easy to follow and made an amazing tasting jam. Family LOVES it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Holt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
A neighbor gave me a giant bag of very tiny, but extraordinary tasting strawberries. I made this jam with them and it is awesome! I do think that having a candy thermometer helped with knowing when it was fully done. It has just begun to cool in some tupperware containers (it will never make it long enough to bother with canning) and it is already solidifying. The strawberries I had were very tart, so the sugar is the right amount. But if you have very sweet strawberries you might want to cut back a bit! So simple and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrod, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Easy recipe,,, delicous. We used exactlly 2 lbs hulled strawberries. Used 2 fresh lemons that made a 1/4 c. this recipe made 5- 1 cup jars of jam.its a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprildawnking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 511) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Supreme Strawberry Topping

Try this lightly sweetened fresh strawberry sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States