Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
wonderful, great!!! first time making jam this was so easy made 8 jars only one left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Got this one done today. I think it takes a little longer than the recipe says. It turned out just fine and will be enjoyed by all. The recipe is a bit like making peach spice jam. It really takes a while to get to 220. But once there you're golden. I really liked our Canadian neighbor's review from Winnipeg. Made do with whatever came out. The idea of using it on pancakes or vanilla ice cream....mmmm, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Just made this, was easy and came out perfect. Great recipe. But the instructions are lacking for first-time jam-makers. I found 2-3 other reviews here very, very helpful to read first and made notes beforehand -- these proved invaluable and this probably would have flopped without their advice. Particularly not being in a hurry on the boiling, stirring often, using both a thermometer and the frozen plate test to ensure done and the right consistency. Also very good advice here regarding the actual canning and storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
This is my first time ever making any sort of jam and canning it. The recipe was very easy to follow! Just one question. How long does it usually take for the jam to "set"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erickabluhm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
The only reason I did not give this 5 stars was the sugar content. However, I cut the sugar in half, pulsed strawberries in food processor and Jam was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Simple and pectin free. She boils highs so be careful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This is one of my favorite jam recipes. So easy and no need to sterilize or add pectin or do anything more difficult than slice and stir. My kids were so happy strawberries were back in season and I just made my first batch of the year. I tend to add less sugar if the berries are very sweet. For my batch I had very sweet berries so halved the sugar. It still comes out very thick. Also, I add the lemon juice after the jam has cooked, while it cools. Once cool I put in containers, some in the fridge and some in the freezer (though they don't stay in the freezer long since the kids eat it fast).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I was looking for a jam recipe that I didn't have to use pectin in. I've been using this one for a while now and it's great! I now only use 3 cups of sugar which is plenty for our taste. The time to reach 220 degrees probably varies by stove but on mine it takes about 18 minutes once boiling. I have also made this recipe using two cups of crushed raspberries/blackberries along with two cups of mash strawberries, which I actually prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montclair, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Oh, I love this recipe!It's my first time ever making jam! Or preserves! Hope you all like this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serene Feng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Windsor, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Just made my first strawberry jam using this recipe, very easy , very quick and lovely jam ! Margaret c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States