Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I don't have 2 pounds of strawberries, so I just halved the recipe. It still turned out great! I was really wishing I could make some fresh jam, not to be frozen or whatever, but rather just where we could have some today for lunch and supper, with maybe enough left over for toast in the morning. I didn't want to waste pectin for something short-term, but didn't know how to do it, until now. You can buy cheap jelly for less, but this will be fresh, and nothing added -- no artificial anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Reduced sugar to 3 cups and still too sweet. Boiled until it reached 220 degrees. Poured into hot jars and turned upside down to seal for about 15 minutes. Placed in fridge overnight to set. When I opened one jar to try it out it had become a thick completely un-spreadable chunk of jam. Have to warm it in the microwave to make it spreadable. Any ideas as to what went wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Yes I have tried this recipe and it was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Wow, very simple recipe for an old fashion Grandma jam...followed the recipe and Voila, Super Strawberry jam
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
best recipe EVER!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
love the recepie but my jam is so runny. HELP?? also i added some vanilla pudding and corn starch to make it more thick but i don't think it helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Set up perfectly after about 15-20 minutes of medium boil. (Use an oversized pot for sure, i couldnt do a full boil because mine wasnt big enough and popping boiling strawberry bubbles aren't fun). My first time making Jam. I listened to other reviewers and only used about 3/4 of the recipe sugar and i like sweet stuff but it still came out way far too sweet. Its edible I guess but If I make it again, i'll try 1/3 to 1/2 of the recipe sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I made this recipe to give out as Christmas gifts. It was my first time making jam. Like other reviews said, I needed to cook it down longer so it would gel up once it was cool. I also put 1/4 of a lemon rind in it while it was cooking down to add some more natural pectin. This did help it to thicken up. I didn't use as much sugar as it called for. I used my food processor for the strawberries and 1 cup of sugar for every 2 cups of strawberries after they were chopped up. The jam turned out amazing. I will make it instead of buying from now on. I froze mine, so that saved a lot of the work of canning the jam that I kept for myself. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Fantastic, and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Easy and Yummy! I have never made jam before and this was soooo good! FYI I only used 2 cups of sugar and mine is still sweet, 4 cups in my opinion is way too much sugar. It took a about 25 minutes to boil, be patient and keep stirring so it won't burn. I also did the plate test it was helpful but you can see it when it starts to really thicken. Hope this helps enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Supreme Strawberry Topping

Try this lightly sweetened fresh strawberry sauce!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States