Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Easy recipe,,, delicous. We used exactlly 2 lbs hulled strawberries. Used 2 fresh lemons that made a 1/4 c. this recipe made 5- 1 cup jars of jam.its a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aprildawnking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Really great jam! I used 5 cups strawberries to 3 cups sugar and it was plenty sweet. So easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I used 2/3 of the sugar called for and it came out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
This was my first time making jam and I didn't really have all of the proper tools for canning so I improvised and just used any of the jars I had available and that was just fine. Overall I think the jam came out good. I wanted to try a jam recipe that didn't require pectin and this one was very easy to make. I think it was a little too sweet for my taste so next time I might cut back the sugar a little bit. I took the suggestion from another person to put the strawberries in a blender to mash. Also it took a lot longer to cook. Maybe I did something wrong? Either way it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
By far the easiest and best strawberry jam I have ever made. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Worked! I added about 2C extra berries and only mashed half. I too reduced the sugar, but by only 1C as that's what helps thicken it. I simmered for 20 min, and used the cold plate to test it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
First time I have had a go at making jam and decided to use this receipt. So glad I did, it was easy. It made about 2 and a half jars so will made double next time. All in all a fab receipt which I would recommend Katharine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
wonderful, great!!! first time making jam this was so easy made 8 jars only one left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Got this one done today. I think it takes a little longer than the recipe says. It turned out just fine and will be enjoyed by all. The recipe is a bit like making peach spice jam. It really takes a while to get to 220. But once there you're golden. I really liked our Canadian neighbor's review from Winnipeg. Made do with whatever came out. The idea of using it on pancakes or vanilla ice cream....mmmm, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
Just made this, was easy and came out perfect. Great recipe. But the instructions are lacking for first-time jam-makers. I found 2-3 other reviews here very, very helpful to read first and made notes beforehand -- these proved invaluable and this probably would have flopped without their advice. Particularly not being in a hurry on the boiling, stirring often, using both a thermometer and the frozen plate test to ensure done and the right consistency. Also very good advice here regarding the actual canning and storage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States