Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Very! Very GOOD jam this one. just one question how do I keep it from coming out so runny? Maybe I didn't cook it long enough? It really tastes great but very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
super yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
color is good and so is texture of the strawberries but will be using pectin next time it is made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
It is a bit late to make Ontario strawberry jam but I thought that I'd give it a go with California strawberries. I didn't quite have enough lemon juice- shy about 2 TBSP; and I had to use half brown sugar and half white granulated (and used 2.5 cups) :-/ (This was not exactly a planned jam making adventure!) I added a splash of Elderflower syrup to make up for the missing lemon juice. I used my immersion blender to mash the berries up once they had begun to get soft. I swear my thermometer is off b/c after 1.5 hrs of a rolling boil it never rose past 205. I did the plate test and it passed. Just put it in the jars, so I'll see how it sets...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Paronen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Love it! So easy to make even someone inexperienced like me couldn't get it wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Doesn't yield 5 cups, but it's easy and without the cost of pectin, more than makes up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Good but pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
This was my first time making any kind of jam or jelly and it was a big hit! I didn't know what the author meant when she said to "process" but the 2 most recent reviews helped me with that :) Jam turned out perfectly and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
The only heavy-bottomed pan I had was a huge stock pot, so I opted for a smaller pot that had a thin bottom. The pot heated up quicker than expected, and I ended up with a super thick jam... so thick that once it set, it won't spread; I have to dig it out of the jar with a spoon. That being said, the taste of the jam is delicious; I will be making this again, but I'm cutting down the time by half. I did make a change to the recipe - I used 1/4 of the sugar, but everything else was the same, including the way I sterilized the jar, canned it, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is really good. I would rather not add pectin, so this works well for me. I couldn't get the jam to go up to 220, so I put it on a bigger burner, and that's when I burned the jam. It was burned only on the bottom, but it made the flavor not quite as good. It set perfectly (only ever got to 216), so I think maybe my (new) thermometer is off. This has a wonderful flavor, and it is quick and easy to make. I am making more tonight. Thanks for the recipe. (I used strawberries that were starting to look a little tired, and the jam was awesome!) Hubby raved about it (when he tasted it prior to the burn). So I made another batch. It is really good jam. At the last, I poured the jam into five 1/2 pints, and then I put the remainder on the stove and added one tablespoon of bourbon. I thought that the flavor was interesting, and we ended up with two jars of Bourbon Strawberry jam. I will be interested to taste it once it sits for a few weeks, and we get to taste it. (Tasted great today!) This is a good, easy recipe. Try it. You'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 492) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States