Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I just made this and it is so good! This is my first time making strawberry jam and I am definitely going to be using this recipe again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angie Hall
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Very simple recipe. Perfect for beginners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JMCNIEL
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
2 tips. First, use a much much larger pot to cook the strawberry mix in. It bubbles up enormously and takes a good 20 minutes before it starts reducing. Second, use a thermometer that attaches to your pot. After 200, each degree higher changed the color and consistency of the jam. Without the thermometer you won't know when the magic 220 arrives. Made 2 1/2 12 oz jars. Tastes very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCNIEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I've used this recipe twice now, and it makes a jam with perfect consistency - I just add less sugar (about 2-3 cups). Also, I don't have a thermometer, so I used a hint that I found on a food blog to tell when the jam is ready to come off the stove. Put a plate in the freezer, and when you want to test the jam, drop a spoonful on the plate. If it doesn't run, and forms a film on top, the jam is ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amanda
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This recipe did not call for pectin. Either way. I use pectin for a better jell. I use before I stir in sugar. I give the pectin time to cook then stir in sugar. Boil to rolling boil then time for 3 min. Test small dollop of jelly in freezer for 1-2 min. This will determine if you cooked your jelly/ jam long enough. Fill jars. Tighten lids, flip upside down 5 min. Turn upright wait for the lids to pop. Store in fidge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Los Molinos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Just finished a small batch, turned out great! I only used 3/4 lb. of strawbs, mashed 'em, sugared them to taste while boiling and don't forget the lemon juice, used about 1/2 tsp and it gave it THAT flavor--you'll know when you taste it while boiling it down. So good and so easy! Cherry jam--you're next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I usually like to give a recipe the benefit of the doubt when it's got such high reviews, but this time I wish I would have listened to the negative comments. I usually make the Ball strawberries freezer jam, but I wanted to try this recipe in hopes of freeing up some freezer space. I doubled this recipe (maybe that's where I went wrong?) but followed the instructions precisely. This recipe is WAY too sweet and doesn't have the thickness that I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
It was a pretty simple recipe, and first time I made jam. I added only 3 cups of sugar like others suggested, and it was perfect. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt H

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
This is great! I'm trying to cut back on sugar so I used 2 cups of sugar and 1/2 the amount of lemon juice. It makes 3 cups this way. Thanks for the recipe and thanks for the footnote on testing for jelling. Very helpful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I boiled it 15 minutes because I used half the amount of sugar. I did the plate test to see when it was ready and it worked perfectly. It's just like the jam my Mom used to make. I like this recipe because it makes a smaller amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States