Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
Just the way my grandma makes it! A little advice: you can store the jam in any jar you got but make sure that you put the glass and the lids in boiling water to get all germs off. Place them on clean kicthen toweles upside down and make sure that you don't touch the inside of jar or lid, otheriwse you'll most likley end up with mold in your jam. Once the jam is in the glass, screw the lid on and place them upside down for about ten minuts. This way the jam will stay good for months and you don't have to freeze it. Small jars with a cute red&white piece of cloth around the lid make great gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela V.
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This was my first time making jam/jelly. It was so easy to make and tastes great!!! My 9 year old son loves it. (I didn't even know where to get the jars from because it is not "the season" to make jam in MD yet! The craft store had the jars in stock.) Here are a few tips and/or lessons I learned... 1. Use a blender or chopper and puree the strawberries until you have four cups. 2. I did not have a thermometer, so I brought the mixture to a rolling boil stirring consistency for ten minutes. (All you will see is bubbles all over the bottom of the pot and foam in some areas. If you put a lid on, it will boil over your pot.) 3. I did the cold plate test to see if the mixture would jell. The first time I was unsure, so I gave it five more minutes of rolling boil time, then tried the plate test again. 4. When you get the jars ready, after soaking them in hot water, use tongs and silicone mitts to handle the glass jars because they will be VERY hot. 5. Place the strawberry jam mixture in the hot jars and put the lid on right away and then turn it upside down. 6. I waited 5 minutes and then turned them back over. This seals the jars. 7. Your jam will not look like jam/jelly, more like thick syrup. 8. Wait for it to "set" After 48 hours you will know if you did it right. 9. I got 2 and a half 16oz jars out of this recipe. I hope this helps. Check out the mason jar pics of my finished jam. Enjoy and Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
Too sweet. The boil needs to be rolling - you cannot stir it down. It will splatter everywhere. This only set as jam after a night in the fridge. Next time I will cut the sugar - I was going to give a small jar to my grandma, but it is far too sweet. When you taste the mix just after the sugar dissolves, that is not the real sweetness. It intensifies once it's boiled so don't think it isn't sweet enough if you first taste it. I put three small plates in the freezer, put a small dob of jam on one and then replaced. After a minute I checked if I could run my finger through and had it jelled. Easy but too sweet. UPDATE : Gave it to Grandma, she loved it. :)FYI, you need 4 punnets of 250g strawberries to get 4 cups of mashed strawberries. Each result tastes a little different, so yum. I advise to follow it exactly, and it tastes a million times better than any jam from a supermarket. It's better to use the heaviest bottom huge pot you have, and start the boil slowly, move it up in quarter increments until high, this way it doesn't catch and burn. Don't be in a hurry, I burnt it when I needed it that afternoon because I was in a hurry, and brought it to the boil too fast in a thin bottomed pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
812 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUSSIEMUM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Turned out great! Water bath is about 10-15 minutes in boiling water for those that don't know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
603 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Great recipe. I have been canning for years and never made Jam without pectin. I had a dinner party last night. I had left over strawberries so I thought it would be a great idea to make the jam so each of my guest could take somthing home. I did't have pectin on hand so I thought I would give this a try. It turned out great! I read the reviews and the people that said the jam was too thin, they did not boil hard enough. Great recipe!!! I will be using it when I do my jam. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
Wow - fabulous, easy recipe. I picked 25 lbs. of strawberries yesterday and tried this recipe and a sure-jell freezer jam recipe. Both were good, but I loved this one. One or two recommendations: Do not use a saucepan - I started with a 3 qt pan and had to pour the jam into a large stock pot midway through cooking - when it starts to boil, it really bubbles up. It takes a long time to get from 215 degrees to 220, keep stirring so the bottom does not burn and be patient. I also used the plate test and it worked well also. The results are great. I used ziploc plastic containers, and am storing what we are not eating in the freezer - it won't last long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Windermere, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
Great recipe! I've never made jam before, but decided to give it a try. I actually used frozen strawberries and it was fantastic! I used 3 cups of sugar and actually will use less next time. It's super sweet and super yummy! At first it was runny, but thickened up as it cooled down. My husband and kids love it! No more store bought jam for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I've never made Jam before, and this was really easy! I used Frozen Strawberries and just cooked on low with 3 1/2 cups of sugar until softened. THEN I mashed them very easily in the pan with a pastry dough cutter. Due to others' reviews of the consistency, I threw in 1/2 tsp of gelatin into the still cool strawberry mix and let it sit about 5 minutes before proceeding with the boiling (I didn't have any pectin, nor do I have the slightest idea how to use it). I should note here that I added to the cooking jam mixture the lemon rind from one of the lemons I used for juice. I did this because of its naturally high pectin level - The rind is removed before canning the jam. I boiled on high for 25-30 minutes before the plate test passed and it came out... Perfect! I used the upside down jar "process" for 10 minutes instead of the water bath and it all came out awesome :) I even opened one of the jars the next day to test out the actual canning part. The lid gave way suction and "popped" as it was twisted opened; so the canning had worked as it was suppose to. The flavor and texture are AMAZING too :). I see no reason to purchase store bought jam, 'cause this stuff is waaaay better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hismusicnme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I have never made jam before, but this was very easy. Be prepared to stir for awhile though! I didn't feel like processing, so I just put it in freezer containers and made freezer jam. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2002
This one turned out pretty good. A little on the thin side, but great taste and color. You really have to cook to the precise degree to make sure it sets. Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 486) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States