Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
What a fantastic and super easy recipe! I only had about 3 cups of mashed strawberries, so scaled my recipe back accordingly, to do 3/4 of it. That said, I did use less sugar than what 3/4 of the recipe would have been. Probably only used about 1 3/4 cups total, instead of the 3 cups called for based on having only 3 cups of the berries. I did the freezer test a few times, just kept stirring my pot on the rolling boil, for a good ten minutes at least. My recipe ended up yielding 6 mini jars (the 125ml size) which I sterilized in boiling water and sealed by turning upside down for about 5 minutes once filled (as indicated by some of the reviews). The consistency and flavour of my jam are great - certainly sweet enough, even with my reduction of sugar. Will use this recipe going forward hands down! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
AWESOME!!! EXACTLY the jam my grandma & aunts used to make!!!! LOVE IT!!!! Thank you so much for sharing! A canning tip: I filled 8oz canning jars to the "line", made sure the edges were clean on the jar, lidded it and set it on the counter upside down. Within 10 minutes, it was sealed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRELLA72
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Best Jam EVER! It is super easy and super quick! I will never go and buy jam from the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Great basic recipe but WAY too much sugar. That much sugar would overwhelm the yummy berries. The berries should be the focus. I used less than 1 cup because I wasn't sure what kind of consistency I would get. Next time, I would use just a .5 cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is the easiest recipe for strawberry jam! So delicious! Love that I do not have to have sure-jell on hand! It sets great! Thank you for the great recipe!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This recipe wasn't bad, but I thought it was too sweet. I will use this recipe again but with 3 or 3 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Good recipe. I doubled this recipe and only used 1 3/4 cup of sugar total! It would of been way to sweet. I liked the consistency, it's wasn't to gel like or super watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I had some organic strawberries from the store in the fridge which needed to be used. My strawberries are coming in now, and I can't bring myself to eat the ones from the store with lovely vine-ripe ones waiting for me! But I didn't want to waste them and decided to try some jam. I didn't have any pectin and didn't really want to use any and found this recipe here and in a few other places on-line otherwise, too. I had only 1 1/2 pounds of strawberries, so I adjusted to 3 cups of sugar but used the juice of a whole, large lemon. I didn't measure the juice. I got busy, and it cooked to about 230, but it turned out great anyway. Once I turned off the heat, I added some vanilla. Oh, and I didn't crush the strawberries, I just used them chopped. It will be a bit firmer than the orinal intended outcome, but the flavor is great, and I consider it a success. I got 2 full pints from my batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Super easy and so so yummy. I just made one adjustment the 2nd time I made it. I added a 1/4 cup lime juice as well as the lemon juice and the sweetness was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Excellent jam. I added a splash of Grand Marnier and some vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States