Strawberry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
I boiled it 15 minutes because I used half the amount of sugar. I did the plate test to see when it was ready and it worked perfectly. It's just like the jam my Mom used to make. I like this recipe because it makes a smaller amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I only used 3 cups of sugar and I'm glad I did because it was definitely sweet enough. I might even only use 2 cups next time and see how it comes out. I don't think I boiled it long enough as it came out a little watery. It still tastes better than any jam from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Just made a batch of this and followed a previous poster's recommendation to add 3 cups of sugar instead of 4. My berries were a little on the tart side,and still, to split hairs, the jam is a bit too sweet, so 4 stars. I think it took longer to set and for some reason, I couldn't get it past 210 without it boiling over. When it reached 210, I started plate testing every 5 minutes, and it took 4 tries to get it to the right consistency. You have to watch it like a hawk, don't answer the phone or the door! Fantastic recipe. I ended up with five 250 ml jars. For beginners: Watch it like a hawk and don't be afraid to use 3 cups of sugar instead of 4. It was such a hit I am making another batch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
It was a good recipe. I found it lacking in directions. After boiling for 10 minutes you do the plate test and it doesn't work. Then what? Boil some more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina Pendley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cateris Paribus
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I am a guy who doesn't know how to cook. On a whim I went and picked some strawberries and made jam with this recipe. Well, actually I ended up using half the amount of sugar as I didn't know how to measure with the cups in our kitchen! It turned out superb. So the only change I'd recommend is - use half the sugar!! :) Thank you for such a simple recipe that worked so well. It was easy and the jam is delicious. Can I use the same recipe for plums? Or do I need to search for a simple recipe like this one?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Absolutely wonderful. Heat slow and follow the recipe to the letter. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Escanaba, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kankakee, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
An awesome recipe. It was simple, easy and the jam tastes great. I did the plate in the freezer test after 10 minutes and the consistency was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Tasty and easy. I think I need to cook it again because it's a little soupy still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I tried this recipe because I was going out of town and had a ton of strawberries that I didn't want to go to waste. I was in a rush and had no pectin, so decided to try this recipe. I should note that this was my first time attempting to make jam. However, a previous review states that this recipe is too lacking in detail- and I STRONGLY agree. I read a lot of the other reviews on this and realized how much I was missing. One I should have read though (wish I had read sooner!) was about gradually increasing the heat. I waited for the sugar to dissolve and then went full up to high heat. All looked great until about 8 minutes into my ten minutes. All of a sudden I had a black, bubbling, smelly mess. I had burnt my jam- burnt it real bad! I highly suggest gradually increasing the heat and going slow and steady- at about a 7 with an electric stove top (much prefer gas). Keep stirring and you will feel when it is thick enough. Basically only follow the ingredients on here and not much else...Additionally, if you do burn it, get the pot, spoon, spatula, whatever, and put it in the sink with HOT water and soap and start scrubbing because this burnt mess sticks to EVERYTHING, and, well, good luck getting it off...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Great recipe! This is the first time I have made jam and it was super easy to do. I started with the burner on low and gradually increased the heat over about 30 minutes. The berries hit a rolling boil at medium-high heat. Luckily I do have a thermometer that goes up to 300 degrees, so I was able to use that to hit the perfect temp. It did take about 4-5 minutes to go from 217 to 221, and putting it on glass plates would have been a hassle seeing as you have to keep stirring, so I would highly recommend using a thermometer! I was able to fill 9 4oz mason jars with this recipe. I used a water bath to can 8 of them, and kept one out for immediate eating. Its been 12 hours and the jam is the perfect consistency! Not runny at all. Nice and thick actually. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 481) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

How to Make Cranana Jam

See how to make delicious homemade jam with cranberries and bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States