Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
The best we have made at home! Very creamy and still just as creamy the day after. Absolutely no ice crystals and just a great ice cream. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe! I changed a few things: 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 half and half so it wouldn't be too rich. I also used 1/2 the strawberries (fresh). With those changes, it was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was the best homemade ice cream my family has ever had...in fact, it was the best strawberry ice cream I've ever had. We did not strain the custard through a sieve, just put it straight into the berries. We also added a can of Sweetened Condensed Milk at the last minute just because it couldn't hurt. I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
The best strawberry ice cream I've ever made. Granted, it's the only strawberry ice cream I've ever made, but it was fantastic! Just what I was hoping for-creamy and delicious! I pureed all but about 2/3 of the strawberries. The rest I mashed for some chunks. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
My first time making Ice Cream and what a winner I selected for my first try. I followed the directions step by step and it was creamy, sweet and full of strawberry flavor from the fresh berries. This is a keeper and I'll make it often. Thanks! I made this again last night and used Whipping Cream and added a package for Frozen Strawberries in light syrup. It packed an awesome punch of strawberry flavor. A Must try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana's Favorite Dishes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Creamy, full of flavor, and simply delicious. Don't be tempted to reduce the amount of strawberries, even while it may seem too much. The corn syrup acts as a stabilizer, and reduces crystalization, so I'll be curious to see how this ice cream fares after a few days--if it lasts that long! I used 1 c. heavy cream and 1/2 c. half and half (experience has proven I like that ratio best) and added 1 tsp. vanilla to the cooked custard. I pureed about 2/3 of the strawberries in the food processor, then added the remaining strawberries and pulsed just to chop them up a bit. It was the perfect combination. This is intensely strawberry with a beautiful, vibrant color. I am anxious to try this with raspberries and blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Very berry good! I doubled the recipe and used frozen strawberries the I picked last summer. This won't last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
The first homemade ice cream I've ever made that I actually thought was better than store bought! My kids and I LOVED the bright, fresh berry flavor. It kept extremely well in the freezer - no ice crystals. It was almost a cross between the light fruit flavor of a sorbet, but still creamy like ice cream. We can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made this recipe because I had extra strawberries and a new ice cream maker. I normally do not eat strawberry ice cream. This however was AMAZING! A great recipe. I did as someone else had suggested and pureed most of the strawberries and chopped the remained up so that there are chunks in the mix. Loved by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
The taste of the berries was like nothing I can buy, and I USED to buy nothing but premium ice cream. Next time, I'll try using a bit less sugar. And believe it or not, using the best, most ripe berries made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States