Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
The first homemade ice cream I've ever made that I actually thought was better than store bought! My kids and I LOVED the bright, fresh berry flavor. It kept extremely well in the freezer - no ice crystals. It was almost a cross between the light fruit flavor of a sorbet, but still creamy like ice cream. We can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
Very berry good! I doubled the recipe and used frozen strawberries the I picked last summer. This won't last long in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Creamy, full of flavor, and simply delicious. Don't be tempted to reduce the amount of strawberries, even while it may seem too much. The corn syrup acts as a stabilizer, and reduces crystalization, so I'll be curious to see how this ice cream fares after a few days--if it lasts that long! I used 1 c. heavy cream and 1/2 c. half and half (experience has proven I like that ratio best) and added 1 tsp. vanilla to the cooked custard. I pureed about 2/3 of the strawberries in the food processor, then added the remaining strawberries and pulsed just to chop them up a bit. It was the perfect combination. This is intensely strawberry with a beautiful, vibrant color. I am anxious to try this with raspberries and blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
The best strawberry ice cream I've ever made. Granted, it's the only strawberry ice cream I've ever made, but it was fantastic! Just what I was hoping for-creamy and delicious! I pureed all but about 2/3 of the strawberries. The rest I mashed for some chunks. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Excellent recipe! I changed a few things: 1/2 heavy cream and 1/2 half and half so it wouldn't be too rich. I also used 1/2 the strawberries (fresh). With those changes, it was fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
The best we have made at home! Very creamy and still just as creamy the day after. Absolutely no ice crystals and just a great ice cream. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
A little too sweet, so I'll reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup next time ... and I used 1c. whole milk plus 1c. heavy cream for a slightly denser product. Came out good! I did just mash the berries, though, instead of pureeing them. I like the chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This recipe is very good and a lot easier then others i have attempted. i did however use frozen strawberries instead of fresh (going for easy here). i think it helped because it cooled down the custard faster. and i cant tell the differance between using fresh and frozen. my boys say to give it 5 stars, so i do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Pretty good recipe. Next time I try this, I'll double the batch though. Too much effort to be all gone in just a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This is my first attempt at strawberry ice cream and so far it is delicious fresh out of the machine. Will have to see how hard it sets up and what the ice crystals are like after that. But a great way to use up the extra berries I had after a dinner I catered. Thanks, Christy J.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States