Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I've made this 4 or 5 times now and it is a *hit* exactly as written. Add some high-quality vanilla and you'll never buy strawberry ice cream again. My only criticism is, why add the extra step by putting the cream into the yolk/sugar mixture and then putting it back in the pan? Just mix the yolk/sugar into the pan, it works fine as long as you stir it. Also, make sure you puree the strawberries. I tried them chopped and it did not work. It was like biting into frozen strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by quinniepants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jamaica Plain, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Made this for a birthday party so I had to double the recipe. We made it up 2 days before the party and froze it, no ice crystals and soft enough to serve straight from the freezer. Everyone said it was like eating frozen whipped topping with strawberries, they loved it! Thumbs up from the picky sister makes this recipe a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
My husband and I thought it was excellent. I left the strawberry puree fairly chunky. I did not adjust the sugar, and added vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
Perfect and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Amazing! Next time I will reduce the amount of sugar by a little bit because it is very sweet...delicious, but sweet :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
It wasn't too bad except for the film that get's left on the spoon and your mouth. I think I'd cut the amount of heavy cream and sub in more half and half if I try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Pretty good, however the process was very involved and I ended up dirtying a lot of large dishes. I probably won't make again as it tastes like store bought ice cream. Plus, I didn't like the corn syrup-it just didn't feel right putting it in there. I also noticed there was a horrible metallic aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
I'm not a big strawberry ice cream fan which is weird because strawberries are my favorite fruit. This recipe, on the other hand, was delicious! I could eat this anytime! For the reviewers that thought this was "too sweet" and wouldn't add so much sugar the next time, that really depends on your strawberries and how ripe they are. The strawberries I had weren't super ripe so the amount of sugar the recipe called for was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Very good. Very smooth. Very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Fabulous! My husband said it was way better than Haagen-Daas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sillyconniegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Modesto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States