Strawberry Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
This was AWESOME and was the hit of our neighborhood party! The only suggestion I would make is to puree only half of the strawberries (or any fruit, for that matter), and dice up/toss in the remainder. Chunks of fruit give the ice cream a bit of texture and some flavorful surprises to find as you eat the sweet treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
I had the best success with this recipe than any other so far. I doubled the recipe, only mashed the berries, and used only 1/2 the cream, substituting 1/2 with whole milk. PERFECTION right out of the canister. Nice and thick, very scoop-able. I noticed someone mentioned a metallic flavor... I noticed this developing also, but my hunch is that it is simply the high-acid berries reacting with the aluminum canister. I put mine in a plastic storage container and it's fine. I can't wait to try this recipe with PEACHES!!!!!--(I used the Nostalgia electrics 4-quart ice cream maker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This stuff is WONDERFUL! I am not a fan of fruit ice creams but had a quart of strawberries to do something with and I haven't made ice cream all summer so this was the ticket. I truly believe ice cream needs to have egg yolks in it and again, this recipe fit the bill. I did not change this at all except to add about 1 t of vanilla to the finished mixture before freezing and I used the dairy products I had on hand which was half and half (about 1 cup) and skim milk (1/2 cup). I bet it is over the top delicious with heavy cream. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I liked it, but I'll reduse the sugar to 1/4 cup. and no other sugar types.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
OMG! So easy and SOOO GOOD! I have a Cuisinart 2Qt ice cream maker...so it was all I could do to keep everyone's spoon out of the pot while it was churning. I did not strain anything, personally I'm not really sure what it meant to do that, so I just poured the creamed mix of egg and sugar (oh I substituted the sugar with Splenda for diabetic hubs) and corn syrup into the pureed strawberries. I chilled a few hours in the fridge and then placed into the ice cream maker. I just placed into the freezer so I wont know if the splenda will have any effect on ice crystals or not until later...if it lasts that long. Smooth creamy texture, doesn't have that filmy coat your mouth feeling and a tad bit sweet..but it all depends on the strawberry s mine were very ripe from the farm. I'm sure with store bought fresh strawberrys it may need that extra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crispymommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Delicious! I tried this recipe twice twice, once as listed, and again by subbing some of the cream with half-and-half to try to reduce the fat content. Stick with the cream- even with the higher fat content, there were still some ice crystals after a couple nights in the freezer (which is obviously made worse by using half-and-half). This is such a flavorful, easy recipe with that great "summer" flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Used rasberries instead because strawberries were out of season. use on large container. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Super creamy, rich, and smooth, this strawberry ice cream exceeded my expectations! I used 4 cups of frozen strawberries which I thawed and they worked perfectly. The ice cream base is great for variations, chocolate, plain vanilla etc. I will be using this recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
Delicious! I didn't have enough heavy cream, so my adaptation had a mix of heavy cream and milk so I just added another egg yolk, plus I added a dash of vanilla just because.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Fantastic, creamy, flavorful and delicious! Why do we buy that processed, artificial drool sold in supermarkets today? I added shaved bakers semi-sweet chocolate toward the end of the churning/freezing process for the second batch and loved it. I think this will be a superb base for any flavor and can't wait to try a vanilla bean batch and a chocolate batch. Thanks Christy for this greatest of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevethecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States