Strawberry Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
This fudge had a food taste,but I can not get it to set up. I even tried cooking it from soft ball stage to hard ball stage and it still didnt set. This recipe is alittle to expensive to try and experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Declo, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I just finished making this fudge a couple of hours ago and honestly, it's about the ugliest fudge I've ever seen. I tasted it as it began to cool and it is way too sweet and doesn't taste like strawberries at all. It does look like leather! Used my thermometer and am a habitual fudge maker, but this one was horrible. What a waste of good strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2004
The name strawberry fudge is inaccurate. It had the texture of caramel and the flavor of raisins (which I loathe). Strawberries don't boil well, I guess. And just because something is cooked to soft ball stage, put it in a pan to cool, and cut it into squares, doesn't make it fudge. Obviously we didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
This had a great flavor, but did not get firm. I followed the recipe exactly and used a candy thermometer to verify proper temp. Please help. I would love to be able to make this so it comes out correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
This was my first attempt at candy making. This is really tasty, though mine were more like taffy than fudge in texture (probably my inexperience, not necessarily the recipe!). It didn't set firmly. I'd like to get a thermometer and try it again as we love the flavor. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Like the other reviewers, I found that this "fudge" didn't set well at all, even though I made sure it reached the temperature specified. I doubt if we're all that klutzy--the recipe must be off somewhere. My other complaint is that it looks disgusting. I was going to take it to a church potluck but even if it had set firmly enough, I wouldn't have, because the appearance is so bad that I don't think anyone would have tried it. That said, it tastes really good, so if you're just making it for yourself and you don't care what it looks like or feels like, go right ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
It was much too sweet, and came out looking like gooey fruit leather. It wasn't fudge at all. I couldn't even cut it to get out of the pan, it would just kind of stick to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVIELOVER19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
It turned to glass after it had set. I couldn't slice it with any of the knives in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I did not care for this fudge recipe. Turned out like caramel. Tastes way too sweet for anyone to eat. I was very disappointed as I could've used my strawberries for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This recipe just wouldn't come up to tempature. It smelled delicious while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Frosty Strawberry Squares

A sweet treat to beat the heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States