Strawberry Freezer Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
since I tried this recipe last year and it wasn't what I liked and hoped for ( end result was super sweet and gritty from sugar) I tried the "freezer jam pectine" this year and it's amazing in taste and texture. 1 1/2C. sugar for 4 Cups of CRUSHED berries! I got twelve 250ml jam jars from the recipe. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I changed it up and used splenda blend sugar instead of regular and added a little lemon juice for kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was my first time making jam, so I was a bit nervous about how it would turn out. However, it turned out great! Absolutely delcious. It is sweet, but I don't find it to be overly sweet. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased with the results. Reading a bunch of the reviews before trying it helped a lot too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I may not be being fair and reviewing this too early, but I just made it and it is sitting the 24 hrs in the jars to cool. The taste is good (although, I have to agree w/ the reviewers who said it's too sweet...next time I'll try the other pectin for reduced or no sugar jams), but I am not sure that it's going to thicken. Right now, it's VERY soupy, not even close to being jam-like. Perhaps the 24 hours is going to help, if it does, I'll update my review, but as for now, only 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junger26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was very easy the only reason it is a 4 star is it is a tad too sweet. I wonder if you could use a different natural sweetener? Or just a cup less sugar and it would still thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Sheppard
Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I used the low-sugar Sure Jell (changes: 4 c. fruit, 3 c. sugar), and the recipe is AWESOME. It makes me wish I had vanilla ice cream in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
235 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I wish this could be made with less sugar, but it needs the sugar to set up properly. It is crucial that you measure your strawberries after they are crushed to get the right amount. Too many will not allow the jam to set up well. Tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natali

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Came out a little runnier than I had hoped but the flavor was excellent. I used frozen strawberries that we had picked last summer. Very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I think this might be the recipe on the Sure Jell box. Either way, it's delicious!! I make it every year. We like it on toast and ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was a super easy jam recipe. I followed the directions except making the jam with splenda and ended up using the freezer jam pectin. For a first time jam maker it was hard to figure out which particular type of pectin to use and I wish the recipe had been more specific. The freezer type worked out okay though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States