Strawberry Freezer Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I'm giving this 5 stars even though it is the same recipe that comes with the pectin. I've made two batches of the jam now and it turns out great. If you stray from the recipe as written, you risk the jam not setting up properly. It does seem like a lot of sugar, but I'm sure the store bought jam is even worse. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minders

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I attempted this recipe twice. The first time I used 3 cups of fruit and because it seemed like way to much sugar I cut back. I guess this was a mistake because it didn't set. So, back to the pot where I added the missing sugar and sure enough it set nicely. I also made another batch with splenda and the special pectin for low cal. recipes. It also set properly. However, I think it's way too much sugar. I don't remember the ratio's but, this freezer jam was so fresh tasting and because I used fructose it didn't require as much sweetner plus it has the added benefit of being hypoglycemic friendly as it doesn't put as much stress on the pancreas to produce insulin. (or so I read)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sweet Apron
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Make this often when berries are inexpensive. A touch of lemon juice brings out the flavor. I also recommend letting the sugar & crushed berries sit for much longer than 10 minutes-helps dissolve the sugar and eliminate grainy jam. In addition, sometimes I add a touch of powdered strawberry jello b/c it sparks the flavor and makes the jam a beautiful deep red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
TOO SWEET! The sugar doesn't let the strawberry flavor speak. I just followed the directions on the bag of pectin instead. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Slutsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made this yesterday with strawberries we picked fresh at a local farm. There seems to be a step missing from this recipe, though. After you stir the boiling water into the strawberries, you're supposed to keep stirring constantly for three minutes, not just let it sit there. Otherwise I made this recipe as is, using the 4 cups of sugar. Yes, it makes a sweet jam, so if you don't like sweetened jams, don't try this. If you are into more of a pure fruit spread, this is not for you. However if you have a big sweet tooth such as myself, then this is for you! And it's an easy way to introduce yourself to making jam. You can also use blackberries, blueberries, peaches, raspberries, cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
This is SO good--just as the recipe is written. I doubled the recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA
Living In: Rexburg, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I made this and the taste is awesome. The only problem I had was that after the 24 hours was up and they were ready to freeze it seems that all the strawberries had risen to the top and the bottom looks like jelly instead of jam. I stuck on jar in the fridge and a couple days later just stirred the top and bottom together, seems fine and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I made this weeks ago and forgot to take the picture. As you see I almost missed the opportuity to take one, most of the Jam is gone. Several jars disappeared after a visit from my children. I did cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
My family is in love with freezer jam but or us this is way too sweet and less flavorful than my usual recipe!!! I prefer the recipe on Ball pectin which calls for 1 - 1 1/2 cup sugar to 4 cups crushed fruit - and NO water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
very delicious, but a TON of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States