Strawberry Freezer Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This is very good and easy, however, I cut the sugar down to 2 cups and it is still way too sweet. I will try one cup of sugar next time and maybe cutting the sweetness with rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I would give this 5 stars. I have tried all the cooked methods and never got it to gel right. This is perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Ertl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This is a standard no-fail freezer jam. Be sure to re-measure your crushed berries and only use 2 cups. It's true, you cannot reduce the sugar, just like you can't change the amount of flour or baking soda in a bread recipe. But you can add 1 tsp of fresh finely grated lemon peel (or 1/2 tsp dried peel) to get the tang you're looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
i have made this recipe many times! it is exactly what is on the box of pectin i use. for those who think it has too much sugar and is too sweet, that is the nature of freezer jam, some just preffer cooked and bottled jam. but PLEASE don't try reducing the amount of sugar...as stated in the pectin box directions: "reducing sugar or using sugar substitutes will result in set failures". there are low-sugar or no sugar needed pectins. try for one of those instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pettitmommie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Amazing. Easy and tasty as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
We eliminated the jam becoming "runny" by using the strained "juice" from mashed berries as part of the water. We make more every year, since fr+fam love the "gift of berries" all yr. round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
I have been following this recipe for Freezer Jam for the past 30 years and it needs no alterations. It is awesome the way it is. Just to clarify -- you CAN puree your berries -- I have done this for 30 years -- in the blender. Just make sure you measure out 2 cups of berries once it's pureed. And secondly, don't modify the amount of sugar. If you want a lower sugar version, buy the Low-Sugar Sure-Jell and follow their recipe. Enjoy. You'll never buy Strawberry Jam again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This recipe is JUST right! Lots of the reviews say that there is too much sugar, but it is PERFECT! Do not change a thing or the jam won't be as good. This is the best freezer jam that I have ever had and my family LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nkcolvin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Easy peasy and oh so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I am not a big jam/jelly fan, I made this mostly for my kids, but I had some on toast and it was soooo good!!! I followed the directions except I did put the berries in a food processor before I read the reviews, and was worried, but it came out great. I do wish it had less sugar though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Telford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States