Strawberry Freezer Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I used half the amount of sugar this recipe called for and it made the most delicious strawberry syrup for pancakes, waffles, ice cream, and strawberry shortcakes!! (The jam does not set if you do not use the exact amount of strawberries and sugar) Next time I will follow the recipe exactly and have strawberry jam :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I've been using this recipe since 2007 and finally thought it time that I say how wonderful it is. Anyone who has tried this has loved it. Great recipe as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalaine_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this recipe for Christmas gifts. I felt the recipe called for a lot more sugar than I thought necessary, but I knew I could not cut it to much or it would not set up as jam should. I had 8 cups of crushed berries and I added 12 cups of sugar instead of the called for 16 cups. I followed the recipe thereafter and it turned out perfect. It made 18 1/2 pints and looked so pretty to give a gifts. This was just the easiest recipe I have ever made.Everyone said it was delicious. Even my husband and he is my critic. Thank you, Kathy Mashburn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Absolutely excellent! My first time making jam -- so quick and easy and it tastes great. I only used 1/2 cup water and 3 1/2 cups sugar, and was a little generous measuring out the strawberries. They're thickening up wonderfully and it tastes amazing! Can't wait to have it on toast in the morning :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Got my berries ready (you can use whole berries that have been previously frozen...just thaw and crush). Then read the recipe...FOUR cups of sugar, OMG, that's enough sugar for 10x the amount of berries being used LOL. I used one cup of sugar and could have used about 1/2 cup. Wow is it sweet. But, the kicker is this...I had no idea what 1.75 oz was and used far too little pectin. My guess was 1 1/2 tsp, well I now know I should have been about 3+ tbsp. So, my preserves did jell but surely not enough. They taste wonderful though and I'll try it again after all this is gone. I loved trying it out, it was fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
easy, great flavor, very runny. Try sure gel next time. Rose Shenk has done this with success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
I did 2 Cups of Sugar instead of 4. Still plenty sweet. Easy freezer jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I dont necessarily think this recipe calls for too much sugar, I think it depends on the sweetness of the berries you are using. I used very deep ripe fresh picked strawberries and my jam came out pretty sweet, however; I think if I had used berries from the grocery store that are large and never red through or not ripened fully the jam would have been much less sweet. It set wonderfully and was super easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Way too much sugar! I use 4C mashed berries, 4C sugar, 2T Lemon Juice, 1T Pectin, and 1T butter. The butter helps avoid the film you get on the top as you simmer the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This is the sure gel recipe and it is AWESOME! I made it exactly like you said. (I pulsed the strawberry's in my food processor, because my hubby doesn't like chunks) It turned out wonderful & it was soooo easy. I will save this recipe & make it again & again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States