Strawberry Freezer Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I followed another reviewers suggestion that it was too sweet and only used 3 cups of sugar. It was still so sweet you could only taste the sweetness not the strawberries. The fruit separated from the jelly and floated to the top of the jar. I won't waste it, it may do well in a crumble with apples and need less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wembley, Middlesex, England, U.K.
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I'm afraid this had too much sugar for my tastes. I'm a sugar girl, so I can't believe I'm saying that. I really did like the consistency though. For my second attempt, I went with 2 cups mashed strawberries, 2/3 cup sugar and 2 Tbsp Ball brand Realfruit Instant Pectin for each 2 pints (2 - 8oz containers) of freezer jam. I will say that the consistency was more like apple butter, but I'm thinking this will be wonderful in the middle of a Minnesota winter. No cooking or boiling needed. I added 1/3 cup more berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I made this and my jam had a lot of sugar crystals in it. Not sure how what to do with it. Followed the certo recipe as stated. I took out my bottle of freezer jam out and noticed that most of the sugar went to the bottom of the bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This recipe is the same as the box of Sure Jell, except it tells you the quantity of CRUSHED strawberries to use, not whole berries. Handy, since I buy a ton of strawberries of all different shapes and sizes. This jam turns out yummy almost always. A previous review was incorrect about saying the recipe calls for twice as much sugar as the boxed directions. It is the same proportion sice crushing strawberries cuts their measured volume in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I reduced the sugar to 1C and it still jelled. With this smaller amount of sugar the taste of the berries came through much more strongly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thom Foote

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I started with 4 cups of mashed berries, cut the sugar in half for my Type-2 diabetic family member. Also used 3/4 cup orange juice in place of half the water. End product tastes great and is plenty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
After reading tons of reviews on this jam, I have this to add: 1 - If you use RIPE strawberries (no white or green on the berries), then your jam will naturally be extra sweet. If you don't like the extra sweetness, use the pink pectin box and follow the directions for low sugar (4 c. crushed berries with 3 c. sugar). When I used berries that had a little white and green on them, 4 c. sugar was needed. The lady at the strawberry farm told me berries with a little green/white on them actually help jam set up (and I believe her). 2 - I like crushing the berries with a potato masher best. I think the chunkiness adds to making it a jam! (And you can use it for other things like smoothies and over ice cream.) 3 - If your berries seem too runny after crushing, drain off most of the extra liquid before adding the pectin to the berries. This really makes the jam set up and seems to evenly distribute the berries throughout the jam. I like it thicker! 4 - Boiling the pectin/water mixture for 1 minute and then adding to the berries and stirring again for 3 minutes also seems to aid in the jam setting up with no sugary crystals. My jam seems to set up in less than 30 minutes. 5 - Since this is not the cooked method, I recommend letting the jam cool and then immediately refrigerating/freezing. I left a jar out once and forgot to give it to a friend. Two days later, I opened it and it didn't smell bad but had a metallic taste, so taste can be affected. I HOPE THIS HELPS EVERYONE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vinton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This recipe has been in my family since the 1960's. My kids and grand kids love it and look forward to me making it every year. It has a lot of sugar, but you just enjoy it in moderation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
WAY too sweet. Will never make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I just made this today and it is so easy to make and so delicious! It did seem like a lot of sugar but the recipe said to follow exactly and I did.....this is my new go to strawberry jelly recipe....by the way, I did double it and it came out perfect....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States