Strawberry Freezer Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I may not be being fair and reviewing this too early, but I just made it and it is sitting the 24 hrs in the jars to cool. The taste is good (although, I have to agree w/ the reviewers who said it's too sweet...next time I'll try the other pectin for reduced or no sugar jams), but I am not sure that it's going to thicken. Right now, it's VERY soupy, not even close to being jam-like. Perhaps the 24 hours is going to help, if it does, I'll update my review, but as for now, only 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junger26

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This was very easy the only reason it is a 4 star is it is a tad too sweet. I wonder if you could use a different natural sweetener? Or just a cup less sugar and it would still thicken up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I used the low-sugar Sure Jell (changes: 4 c. fruit, 3 c. sugar), and the recipe is AWESOME. It makes me wish I had vanilla ice cream in the freezer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I wish this could be made with less sugar, but it needs the sugar to set up properly. It is crucial that you measure your strawberries after they are crushed to get the right amount. Too many will not allow the jam to set up well. Tastes delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natali

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Came out a little runnier than I had hoped but the flavor was excellent. I used frozen strawberries that we had picked last summer. Very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I think this might be the recipe on the Sure Jell box. Either way, it's delicious!! I make it every year. We like it on toast and ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This was a super easy jam recipe. I followed the directions except making the jam with splenda and ended up using the freezer jam pectin. For a first time jam maker it was hard to figure out which particular type of pectin to use and I wish the recipe had been more specific. The freezer type worked out okay though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I have only made this once before and it was very good. I got this recipe from my mother-in-law. She calls it refrigerator jam and says it can be refrigerated for 3 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
We also made this with blackberries and it came out GREAT!!! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Yup great recipe. I used this too and noticed it is also the recipe from the box. For my second batch I used the pectin that calls for less sugar. It is 3 C of sugar to 4 cups of crushed strawberries. I like that one better because it is a little less sweet. If you try that, you have to have the pectin that is designed to use less sugar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States