Strawberry Fig Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Excellent recipe. I used 12 cups of figs, quartered and 6 cups of white sugar. I have also used orange jello. I simmered for thirty minutes before adding the jello and then proceeded as per recipe. Delicious preserves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
This was an easy, wonderful recipe. I used peach jello the first time and it was very tasty. I didn't bother with any boiling of the jars....I just put the preserves in "tupperware" and gave out to my family members and kept the rest in the fridge. My husband loved it! I made again with strawberry jello and we liked it just as much! I did use splenda instead of sugar...so I used a little less because of the extra sweetness of splenda. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rocky Hill, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
This recipe is great! They taste just like the ones my grandmother made back in the 60's. My granddaughter, who is a strawberry lover, had never tasted figs and she loved them, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gorman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
This was so easy and so yummy!! I only had raspberry jello on hand and it turned out fantastic. This recipe made four small jars for me which was just right for our family. Next time I am going to try black cherry jello and I bet it will be just as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I was given this recipe years ago, but mine called for 3 of the small boxes of Jello and I boiled the mixture for 15 min. Also, I like my preserves more like jam, so I add 1.5oz (3 Tbsp) of liquid pectin with citric acid for a better jell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Followed Paula's instructions to a T in the cooking process. And it didn't disappoint not one ounce! I didn't want to do a water bath after I tasted the hot batch and knew instantly, it was going to be a hit with my kids. I can say, I never would have thought to use flavored gelation in preserves and being this was only 3 ingredients in a flash to perfection! What made this totally ridiculously sinful was baking off some puff pastry cut into squares, opening up the cavity slathering a dollop of Cool Whip's frosting (something I have never used before until this), warm preserves and topped with the 2nd half of the pastry square and eating like it is...OMGosh! talk about heaven. This unusual recipe for me was quite easy, tasty and affordable! My whole family loved it! Thanks again. It will be something I do with other flavors of gelatin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Just made this and WOW, I have never canned before , this was sooo easy and everyone loved them, the girls at work want more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deborah Wukovits
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I just made this and my husband loves it. I am only giving the recipe 4 stars because it is too sweet. Does anyone know if I could reduce the amount of sugar by 1 cup? I love the fact that it is so easy to make! I never made homemade preserves before. Next time I will cut up the figs into small pieces and then mash them a bit with a fork before cooking rather than trying to mash them later when the mixture is so hot. -Debbie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Wukovits

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Very good! I am not sure if it called for whole or mashed Figs. I used 4 cups of whole figs and it was WAY too sweet. I decreased the sugar by half. This was really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I've made this many times & everyone loves it. This is very similar to my grandma's recipe. If you're using whole figs I recommend using 1 1/2 cups of sugar. I also add a little bit of lemon juice to mine. You can pay around with different flavors of jello. I usually use either strawberry or cherry. Great, easy recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Lynn Glore
Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Haughton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Strawberry Freezer Jam

See how to make super-simple strawberry freezer jam from scratch.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States