Strawberry Dream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Fantastic Cake. Followed the directions to the tee for the cake. Superb! Be very careful however on draining the strawberries for the frosting. I did not drain them enough and my frosting was a soupy liquid. To compensate for this I took a small portion of the soupy liquid and added a lot of powdered sugar. In the end it was all good and was a very great cake. A perfect compliment to summertime. Family liked it. Will definately use this recipe often just being careful on the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Wonderful!!! I will make this again and again and again, I made the cake to the T, however, I made my own version of the cream cheese frosting, I pureed the strawberries and put them in a coffee filter to help drain the liquid, then I used 2 8oz pkg of cream cheese, the strawberries, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 2 T. softened butter and 3 C. powdered sugar, wow, what a nice cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Antonia~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Great cake!!! Brought it to work and it was a huge hit. Only thing I would change is putting frosting in refrigerator to firm up before frosting layers of cake. I found that the frosting was too "soupy". It just ran more than I wanted and layers slide. But I will make it again... it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2001
EXCELLENT - very easy to make and a family favorite!! *** Note: I was given this recipe in 1991; not sure when the cake mix dr. published it in her book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Absolutely awesome! I did use frozen strawberries and they made the frosting a little to runny. I'd make this again but use the fresh strawberries that the recipe calls for. Otherwise this cake was excellent. Also, it passes the freezer test.....it freezes well and tastes great when thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
This was yummy - very moist even after being refrigerated for a few days. I used the White Chocolate Frosting recipe from Strawberry Dream Cake I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
I made this cake for my husband's birthday, he said it was the best strawberry cake he had ever eaten-did not last long here. Thanks for the recipe. It will be used many times here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
this cake is very very moist and the taste is delicious. i will make this cake again and again. as a matter of fact, i will make this cake for memorial day in about 2 weeks. i think it is best if you frost one layer and let of cool off in the refrigator and do the other two the same way, that way your frosting will not run. that was the only problem i had with the cake or maybe let your frosting chill in the fridge first. the cake is the bomb and i wouldn't change a thing about it. when the cake chilled, i was delighted because it was just what the other viewers said, don't change a thing about the cake. pay attention and follow the directions and you can't go wrong. thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasonERF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Great recipe but seems strange that it is identical to a recipe in The Cake Doctor recipe book??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States