Strawberry Dream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
Excellent cake! For a great presentation, I melted semi sweet chocolate with a little shortening and drizzled it all over the top of the cake and then placed fresh whole strawberries on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Fantastic Cake. Followed the directions to the tee for the cake. Superb! Be very careful however on draining the strawberries for the frosting. I did not drain them enough and my frosting was a soupy liquid. To compensate for this I took a small portion of the soupy liquid and added a lot of powdered sugar. In the end it was all good and was a very great cake. A perfect compliment to summertime. Family liked it. Will definately use this recipe often just being careful on the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
Ignore the previous reviewer, sounds like a mean spirited indication of her own lack of culinary skills - this recipe is fantastic. Perfect for the summer months when strawberries are ripe and sweet. I made this for the weekly meeting of a group of college students I mentor. They looked at it suspiciously when I served it but then fought over the leftovers when it was time to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
eehhhewwww
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2005
This is an excellent recipe bursting with the aroma and flavor of strawberries. Chilled, it is a perfect dessert for spring or summer. I loved the chewiness of the coconut flakes in the cake. I cut down the amount of sugar to 2 cups in the frosting. My husband who is not a cake-lover enjoyed it a lot and friends loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Absolutely amazing recipe! I left out the pecans, and it still came out outstanding! I got rave reviews at my friend's bridal shower. This one's definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2005
This cake was awesome. I didn't have any strawberry jello at the time, so I used blueberry flavored jello and it still turned out so so good. It looked funny because of the blue jello, but it tasted absolutely delicious, and my entire family could harldy keep their hands off of it. Something I will definitely use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
FABULOUS CAKE. i made it in several small pans and it worked great! i plan to give this as teacher gifts at the holidays. SO GLAD I FOUND THIS RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2004
This was yummy - very moist even after being refrigerated for a few days. I used the White Chocolate Frosting recipe from Strawberry Dream Cake I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
Absolutely awesome! I did use frozen strawberries and they made the frosting a little to runny. I'd make this again but use the fresh strawberries that the recipe calls for. Otherwise this cake was excellent. Also, it passes the freezer test.....it freezes well and tastes great when thawed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States