Strawberry Dream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would! Have made this a couple of times and every time I've had someone beg me for the recipe...or request I make it the next time they've been invited over. I've made the cake a day or two before and assembled day of and it was still moist and delicious. The photo posted with the recipe is GORGEOUS by the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I thought this cake was OK, but very sweet and tasted artificial. I ususally don't bake with cake mixes, so that may be why I didn't care for it. The frosting didn't spread well for me even though I tried to drain the strawberries thoroughly. My kids, however, loved it. They thought that a pink cake with pink frosting was the best. Although the cake wasn't bad, I don't think I will make it again given all the other excellent ways to use strawberries in desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Great cake!!! Brought it to work and it was a huge hit. Only thing I would change is putting frosting in refrigerator to firm up before frosting layers of cake. I found that the frosting was too "soupy". It just ran more than I wanted and layers slide. But I will make it again... it was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
this cake is very very moist and the taste is delicious. i will make this cake again and again. as a matter of fact, i will make this cake for memorial day in about 2 weeks. i think it is best if you frost one layer and let of cool off in the refrigator and do the other two the same way, that way your frosting will not run. that was the only problem i had with the cake or maybe let your frosting chill in the fridge first. the cake is the bomb and i wouldn't change a thing about it. when the cake chilled, i was delighted because it was just what the other viewers said, don't change a thing about the cake. pay attention and follow the directions and you can't go wrong. thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is one of the best cakes I've ever had. I've made it two years in a row for my daughter's birthday--it's her absolute favorite. Great flavor! Bravo!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Great recipe but seems strange that it is identical to a recipe in The Cake Doctor recipe book??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
WOW! WHAT A HIT! I TOOK THIS TO A FUNDRAISER GALA EVENT AND IT WAS GONE IN 10 MIN. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
This one is a family favorite. Perfect for summer parties--looks way more difficult and impressive than it really is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
This was great! I am not a big coconut fan and it was great. Big hit with the family. Fell apart when i put it together. Did not look pretty but the taste made up for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
The cake was good and very strong tasting, very pink. I might have done okay just icing it with vanilla frosting. But the frosting listed was so packed with berries, nuts, and coconut it didn't seem to suit cake. It yielded a lot and overpowered the cake. I enjoy other icing combos with similar ingredients but this one didn't cut it. Maybe make the cream cheese frosting, ice the cake and then press the nuts coconut and strawberries on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZABETHT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Angel Food Dessert

Layered dessert with angel food cake, cream cheese, and strawberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States