Strawberry Dream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Pretty good, it wasn't as sweet as I thought it would be but it still tasted great with the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
I made this recipe over the summer and forgot to review it. I made it for a church pot luck and it went over great! Was completely gone at the end. It's a very refreshing cake. It's not my number 1 favorite, but I would definitely make again. I had a little trouble with the icing turning out on te runny side, but I'm sure that was my fault for either using too many mashed strawberries or not letting it chill long enough. Very yummy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Wonderful!!! I will make this again and again and again, I made the cake to the T, however, I made my own version of the cream cheese frosting, I pureed the strawberries and put them in a coffee filter to help drain the liquid, then I used 2 8oz pkg of cream cheese, the strawberries, 1/2 tsp almond extract, 2 T. softened butter and 3 C. powdered sugar, wow, what a nice cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~Antonia~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermiston, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This recipe was very easy to make. I would cut the sugar to half or less unless you like really sweet frosting. It was over the top sweet for me but, it's a great cake. Especially if you like strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rainebird

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Cake was good but not great. To be fair, I did make some changes. I used coconut cake mix, substituted applesauce for 1/2 of the oil and omitted the nuts. The texture was great but I expected a fresher strawberry taste. I didn't have time to make the icing so that probably would have made a difference. Overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Ok....dense. Nuts didn't seem to fit, or the coconut. Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINWIFEANDMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
this cake was soooooo good and moist! i made it twice, once for my boyfriend's birthday and another for my old teachers and one of the teachers love it so much and had 4 servings! the only thing that sucked was that the frosting turned out super super runny! does anyone know how to make it thicker?? i would love to make it again but the frosting was too runny.. help? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This review is for the icing and not the cake. I had already had a strawberry cake recipe and I went with that one instead. And everyone that tried it was glad I decided not to put this icing on because it was not that great. Maybe I did something wrong eventhough I followed the recipe to the t. it just tasted like strawberry cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
If I could give this more than 5 stars I would! Have made this a couple of times and every time I've had someone beg me for the recipe...or request I make it the next time they've been invited over. I've made the cake a day or two before and assembled day of and it was still moist and delicious. The photo posted with the recipe is GORGEOUS by the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
I thought this cake was OK, but very sweet and tasted artificial. I ususally don't bake with cake mixes, so that may be why I didn't care for it. The frosting didn't spread well for me even though I tried to drain the strawberries thoroughly. My kids, however, loved it. They thought that a pink cake with pink frosting was the best. Although the cake wasn't bad, I don't think I will make it again given all the other excellent ways to use strawberries in desserts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States