Strawberry Dream Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly but my cake didn't rise at all. It smelled delicious but was way too dense to eat. I also didn't care for the frosting, all I could taste was butter. But thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XASTIEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Delicious! Will definitely make again. My daughter brought all the ingredients to bake the night before our Easter dinner on Sunday. We decorated with chocolate marshmallow rabbits covering the sides of the cake. Looked festive and very yummy to taste. I was short one 9" round pan, two worked just great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking2please

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This is such a great cake, and so versatile! You can switch it up and use raspberry fruit and jello, or orange or pineapple. I have used each of these already and all are delicious! I changed nothing except eliminating the pecans because my grandchildren don't care for them. This is a no-fail winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This is a delicious cake! I had no trouble with the frosting, as I drained the strawberries really well. I used toasted almonds in place of the pecans. Everyone who tried this, agreed that it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Best recipe for strawberry cake. 4/03/12
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I loaned out my Cake Mix Doctor book to someone and needed the recipe for this cake. I am so glad someone posted it on here. The only thing, make sure you drain the strawberries well or your frosting will be kind of runny. I actually drained them on paper towels my second go round and the frosting came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Best strawberry cake ever!! Take note of ingredients, if u don't like sweet rich icing you are not going to like it so dont complain :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I have just found this recipe and I am excited to try it this week! Has anyone ever made cupcakes with it? I think it will be great, I will surely come back to rate once I see how they turn out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chrismelissa

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I used 1/3 c strawberry yogurt instead of the oil and it was still super-moist. And much healthier. Very tasty and made an excellent layer cake with strawberry filling. I just used whipped cream for the frosting. The cake stands on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crescent City, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was delicious and easy to make. I used sugar free jello and reduced fat cream cheese. The taste was fine, but I think the lower fat cream cheese may have made the icing thin and runnier than it should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

This impressive cake is rich with the flavor of real strawberries.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States