Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I've tried making them for the recent mothers day celebration.The texture isn't soft enough for my likings but the taste isn't that bad. Any idea of how to make it more soft and fluffy?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
To make less dense, I think you should cut down on the butter and eggs (say to 6 tbs of butter and only 1 or 2 eggs) and then make up for the lost moisture with 1/2 c whole milk. When beating together butter and sugar, make you are do it for a good 3-4 minutes. It will get noticeable lighter. Also cut the flour a little bit. Finally, only add a pinch of salt. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hundley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I frosted these with Cara's White Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting. I was a little disappointed that they fell a little when i took them from the oven, but that was probably my fault. They still looked really nice though, and the texture was wonderful. I prepared them as described by another reviewer and I didn't use the extract, but used almost .5 liters of strawberries. Still very moist 2 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The cupcakes had a great flavor and everyone at work and home loved them with the cream cheese icing I used on them, but they were a bit thick. I only used 5 tablespoons of butter, 1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons of milk, 2 teaspoons of baking powder a whole cup of finely chopped strawberries and three lightly beaten egg whites. Again, very delicious but not as light and fluffy as I'd wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Entirely too dry. Seemed more like breakfast muffins than cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillwith4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Enjoyed these very much. Didn't have any strawberry extract, so I used vanilla and they still turned out. I would go 1/2 cup finely chopped strawberries and I love the fruit and felt the 1/4 cup left me wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KogoCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I followed the suggestion of 6TBS butter, one egg, and I used 1/2 skim milk and a lot of strawberries and vanilla extract. These were still buttery cupcakes, even with these lighter adjustments. I made icing with 8oz cream cheese, 2 cups powdered sugar and dash of vanilla extract and topped with strawberries. Good like a strawberry shortcake, not a typical cupcake flavor or texture. I will make again as they were a hit for my neice's 3rd birthday =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rory
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
i followed the recipe according to Rachel Hundley adjustments and used the Cara's White Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting... they are absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rory

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These are really good. More like a muffin than a cupcake though. I didn't have strawberry extract so I used raspberry and you couldn't tell I'd switched. I did double the strawberries and it needed the half cup. Even doing that, my husband still said it needed more strawberries. I expected these to be pink. They were not. Just plain white cake color with pieces of berry in them. These were tender and moist and not dense but not really as cake like as I expected. Really good though. I ate mine plain and it doesn't need any icing at all. Thanks for the great recipe. I will definitely make this again. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I made this according to the recipe and it came out AMAZING! Very moist and quite yummy! The only change I made was that I added 1.5-2 cups of strawberries and they came out GREAT!! They didn't last very long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Esteves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States