Strawberry Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Delicious! I tweaked the recipe a bit and had fantastic results. As per another reviewers suggestion, I used only 6 tbs butter and added 1/2 c whole milk (still used 3 eggs!). I baked the cupcakes for the full 25 minutes and they were perfect! Not at all muffiny. Only a couple made it until the next day, and they were still great. We used buttercream frosting and that was a bit heavy for the cupcake, so maybe next time I'll try something new. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
Made as written, but used a lot more strawberries (almost a full cup) per previous reviews. It is a bit heavy for a cupcake consistency, but still so tasty. I paired it up with the vanilla powdered sugar fronsting recipe (also from this site). I brought to my monthly cooking club & it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
These should be called muffins, not cupcakes, as that is what they are - muffins. Pretty good muffins though. I added some pink food coloring for color, increased the berries by half and used 2 tablespoons of the juice from the berries in place of the extract as I didn't have any. The flavor was wonderful and I was pleased with how they turned out ~ as muffins, not cupcakes. Topped them with a white chocolate cream cheese frosting. They were moist when fresh, but had dried out considerably by the next day, so they need to be consumed pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I made this according to the recipe and it came out AMAZING! Very moist and quite yummy! The only change I made was that I added 1.5-2 cups of strawberries and they came out GREAT!! They didn't last very long in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Esteves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
These are really good. More like a muffin than a cupcake though. I didn't have strawberry extract so I used raspberry and you couldn't tell I'd switched. I did double the strawberries and it needed the half cup. Even doing that, my husband still said it needed more strawberries. I expected these to be pink. They were not. Just plain white cake color with pieces of berry in them. These were tender and moist and not dense but not really as cake like as I expected. Really good though. I ate mine plain and it doesn't need any icing at all. Thanks for the great recipe. I will definitely make this again. So easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Rory
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
i followed the recipe according to Rachel Hundley adjustments and used the Cara's White Chocolate Sour Cream Frosting... they are absolutely delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rory

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I followed the suggestion of 6TBS butter, one egg, and I used 1/2 skim milk and a lot of strawberries and vanilla extract. These were still buttery cupcakes, even with these lighter adjustments. I made icing with 8oz cream cheese, 2 cups powdered sugar and dash of vanilla extract and topped with strawberries. Good like a strawberry shortcake, not a typical cupcake flavor or texture. I will make again as they were a hit for my neice's 3rd birthday =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Enjoyed these very much. Didn't have any strawberry extract, so I used vanilla and they still turned out. I would go 1/2 cup finely chopped strawberries and I love the fruit and felt the 1/4 cup left me wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KogoCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Entirely too dry. Seemed more like breakfast muffins than cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillwith4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
The cupcakes had a great flavor and everyone at work and home loved them with the cream cheese icing I used on them, but they were a bit thick. I only used 5 tablespoons of butter, 1/2 cup and 2 tablespoons of milk, 2 teaspoons of baking powder a whole cup of finely chopped strawberries and three lightly beaten egg whites. Again, very delicious but not as light and fluffy as I'd wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NomNomDelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Bats and Spider Cupcakes

Let bats and spiders loose in your house with these sweetly spooky treats!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States