Strawberry Cupcakes with Lemon Zest Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I took these to a family gathering and I made about 4 dozen, they were gone within minutes! I wouldn't change a thing about them they were sweet and the icing was creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Like many other reviewers, i agree that the puree did end up a mushy pit at the bottom. The cupcakes still tasted great. Instead of 1/2 tsp. of lemon juice in the icing, i used the juice from 1/2 of the lemon and in my opinion it was just the right amount. Next time I plan on mixing the puree into the batter and hopefully they wont be as mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
i liked the creamyness of it but it didnt taste like lemon!!! if i make it again i would add 1/4 cup of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Can someone pleasee tell me where I went wrong.. I did everything it said to do but I ended up with a very mushy cupcake inside and a huge pit on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Messy but delicious! I made these to the exact recipe instructions and I agree with other reviewers. I would reduce the puree and add to the batter next time for a hopefully more consistent and less mushy cupcake. I found the frosting a little runny - which I have never had a problem with other cream cheese frosting recipes in the past. I would definitely make again with the changes - awesome flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I just added my strawberry puree to the batter for extra strawberry-y cupcakes due to other reviews indicating the puree in the middle made the cupcakes mushy. I think you could do with about half the amount of puree if you choose to do it this way. I baked a couple extra minutes, as they seemed very soft. I also added a little extra lemon juice to the frosting recipe... the result was delish! I'd call these Strawberry Lemonade cupcakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This was a little harder than anticipated. I hope they are worth it! I will let u know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Hauserman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I agree with the other reviewer who said that the filling ended up more like a mushy pit at the bottom. It just didn't seem to work as I expected it to. Next time, I would skip the filling and just add the pureed strawberries to the cake mix to amp up the strawberry flavor. Other than that, the recipe was great. The cupcakes were super moist and I loved the addition of the lemon to the cream cheese frosting. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My daughter requested strawberry cupcakes for her birthday so I gave this recipe a try. I looked at two large grocery stores and neither one had strawberry cake mix, so I used a "rainbow" mix instead. I puréed some additional strawberries and added them to the mix in place of water. That was the only change I made. I was able to fill 20 muffin cups with batter and they needed to bake 22-25 minutes before they were done. They were a lot less pink than the one in the photo and the strawberry "filling" was more like a mushy pit in the bottom (maybe because they were baked in a convection oven?) In spite of these things, they were a big hit! I like the addition of lemon zest to the icing and plan to try it with other recipes. One tip: if you always keep a lemon in the freezer, you can grate off whatever you need (for anything) and it lasts forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Thank you for the yummy recipe! I am used to baking cupcakes at a little higher temp. I like the results of a lower temp. The tops are flat instead of a rounded dome. These really melt in your mouth and the puree inside is a nice little surprise! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States