Strawberry Cupcakes with Lemon Zest Cream Cheese Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2015
I came across this recipe when requested to make "strawberry cake" for a friend. I followed the directions exactly the results were well received. I didn't read the reviews first, and as I watched them bake, I was a little worried that they wouldn't "close up". Some did, some didn't. I waited to frost them until the next morning, being certain that the icing had a chance to firm up first. The cupcakes that didn't fully close up had divits in the top, but filling the hole with frosting disguised the divit very well! After frosting I stored them in the fridge until about 15 minutes before serving. The result was a very moist cupcake with most of the puree soaked into the cake. This left a hollow spot that was somewhat amusing. I think I will make these again, but might try an all fruit strawberry jam instead of the puree to see if it holds together a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Mushy bottoms. Add only strawberries to batter. Increase lemon zest and juice in frosting to your liking. I really need to read comments BEFORE I start a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DoughGirl
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
First time trying this recipe. Worked perfectly and looked pretty. Wish I could help the other reviewers who said that their purée middles were mushy. Mine turned out exactly as expected - a little surprise of color and flavor. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoughGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I took these to a family gathering and I made about 4 dozen, they were gone within minutes! I wouldn't change a thing about them they were sweet and the icing was creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hanna City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Like many other reviewers, i agree that the puree did end up a mushy pit at the bottom. The cupcakes still tasted great. Instead of 1/2 tsp. of lemon juice in the icing, i used the juice from 1/2 of the lemon and in my opinion it was just the right amount. Next time I plan on mixing the puree into the batter and hopefully they wont be as mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Covington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
i liked the creamyness of it but it didnt taste like lemon!!! if i make it again i would add 1/4 cup of lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Can someone pleasee tell me where I went wrong.. I did everything it said to do but I ended up with a very mushy cupcake inside and a huge pit on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Messy but delicious! I made these to the exact recipe instructions and I agree with other reviewers. I would reduce the puree and add to the batter next time for a hopefully more consistent and less mushy cupcake. I found the frosting a little runny - which I have never had a problem with other cream cheese frosting recipes in the past. I would definitely make again with the changes - awesome flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnus' Momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I just added my strawberry puree to the batter for extra strawberry-y cupcakes due to other reviews indicating the puree in the middle made the cupcakes mushy. I think you could do with about half the amount of puree if you choose to do it this way. I baked a couple extra minutes, as they seemed very soft. I also added a little extra lemon juice to the frosting recipe... the result was delish! I'd call these Strawberry Lemonade cupcakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
This was a little harder than anticipated. I hope they are worth it! I will let u know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Hauserman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Cream Cheese Bars

Quick, easy, sweet and tangy!

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States