Strawberry Cream Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I made this recipe today. My daughter has a wheat allergy so I substituted the a/p flour with 2/3 C brown rice flour and 1/3 C potato starch. Also added a 1/2 tsp of xanthan gum. The cake rolled well and the texture was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
great roll! it was a big hit in the family. I didnt try the strawberry cream stuff inside, instead i just used strawberry jam. It tasted amazing. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Love it! Instead of making it into a jelly roll, I baked it into a round pan and made a strawberry shortcake. It's delicious & tastes like heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is a keeper! It was simple to make and came out light and fluffy! I used dream whip and fresh strawberries to cut on calories, but real whipped cream wouldn't be such a sin since this recipe is fat free! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loosewheel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
First off, I made the cake as written, was great. Second time, I modified with low fat lemon pudding with lemon zest and folded in whipped cream. It was really good. I think next time I will use chocolate pudding. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I found the cake quite dry with a coffee cake texture. If I have another go I will look for a recipe more pound cake like. Once the dry edges were trimmed the recipe came together easily. Good flavour. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
this was perfect! I followed the recipe exactly but for rolling first I used baking paper then I covered whole of the roll by towel and left it to cool.it tasted so good.thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This recipe is great. I made it for family dinner at my in-laws and it was a big hit. I used 1 1/2 filling and substituted berry applesauce for the egg, because my mother in-law is allergic. When I served it I used strawberry short cake toppings on the slices. I got 12 servings out of this roll. I am making it for the other side of the family tomorrow with the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I'd give this 4.5 stars. I made it according to the recipe but used strawberry-rhubarb jam for filling instead. I was concerned about using buttered foil, and about it sticking to the towel, but it all came apart really nicely. As a previous reviewer said, the eggs need to be beaten quite a long time. The cake is very sweet. I like sweet but it was very, very sweet. I was impressed how well it worked overall though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I have made this recipe 2 times and it was wonderful both times. I did add lemon zest to the cake batter, beat the eggs 5 minutes and baked it exactly 11 minutes. There were no crusty sides. Some reviews said they had trouble removing the towel,you may need more powdered sugar on the towel. I put the strawberry gelatin powder in the whipping cream the first time and did not much care for it. I used 2 cups whipping cream both times and sweetened it to my taste. I simply washed, dried and sliced the strawberries and placed in an even layer on the whipped cream layer, rolled up the cake roll and iced the entire roll with the remaining whipped cream. Absolutely delicious and very pretty. Thank you for the recipe and reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States