Strawberry Cream Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
great roll! it was a big hit in the family. I didnt try the strawberry cream stuff inside, instead i just used strawberry jam. It tasted amazing. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Love it! Instead of making it into a jelly roll, I bake it into a round pan and make a strawberry shortcake ( ^?^ ) it's delicious & tastes like heaven! ( ??? )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is a keeper! It was simple to make and came out light and fluffy! I used dream whip and fresh strawberries to cut on calories, but real whipped cream wouldn't be such a sin since this recipe is fat free! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loosewheel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Timmins, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
First off, I made the cake as written, was great. Second time, I modified with low fat lemon pudding with lemon zest and folded in whipped cream. It was really good. I think next time I will use chocolate pudding. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
I found the cake quite dry with a coffee cake texture. If I have another go I will look for a recipe more pound cake like. Once the dry edges were trimmed the recipe came together easily. Good flavour. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
this was perfect! I followed the recipe exactly but for rolling first I used baking paper then I covered whole of the roll by towel and left it to cool.it tasted so good.thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This recipe is great. I made it for family dinner at my in-laws and it was a big hit. I used 1 1/2 filling and substituted berry applesauce for the egg, because my mother in-law is allergic. When I served it I used strawberry short cake toppings on the slices. I got 12 servings out of this roll. I am making it for the other side of the family tomorrow with the egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
I'd give this 4.5 stars. I made it according to the recipe but used strawberry-rhubarb jam for filling instead. I was concerned about using buttered foil, and about it sticking to the towel, but it all came apart really nicely. As a previous reviewer said, the eggs need to be beaten quite a long time. The cake is very sweet. I like sweet but it was very, very sweet. I was impressed how well it worked overall though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I have made this recipe 2 times and it was wonderful both times. I did add lemon zest to the cake batter, beat the eggs 5 minutes and baked it exactly 11 minutes. There were no crusty sides. Some reviews said they had trouble removing the towel,you may need more powdered sugar on the towel. I put the strawberry gelatin powder in the whipping cream the first time and did not much care for it. I used 2 cups whipping cream both times and sweetened it to my taste. I simply washed, dried and sliced the strawberries and placed in an even layer on the whipped cream layer, rolled up the cake roll and iced the entire roll with the remaining whipped cream. Absolutely delicious and very pretty. Thank you for the recipe and reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OrangeHibiscus
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
Made this twice. First I made it as written. It was ok but it was lacking strawberry flavor looking for as the title says. The smell of the roll to me was eggy & didn't care for it. The Second time I made this after reading several reviews. I added a lemon rind & squeeze a little of its juice. Used strawberry jello instead of unflavored gelatin elimited the 1 Tbs sugar & used an extra Tbs jello. I thought I needed more filling so I made a little more. Rolled & chilled. Served it with fresh strawberries & our favorite store brought whipped cream. It was delish. Some family members did the works on serving them selves added ice cream, stawberry, bananas, whipcream & syrup, it was a hit. Family requested I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrangeHibiscus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States