Strawberry Cream Cheese French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brenna
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Only one thing I can say... AMAZING!!!! Ps I added a bit of cinnamon to the egg mixture because what is french toast without cinnamon?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe three times now. First time, made it with strawberries and based on other reviews here, half the amount of cream cheese called for in the recipe. YUMMY! I can't imagine how rich it would be with twice that amount of cream cheese...seems excessive. Second time, used raspberries in place of the strawberries. YUMMY! Third time, swapped out the cream cheese with mascarpone cheese and it was AMAZING. It was lighter than the cream cheese and brought out the flavor of the fruit. Before serving, I just sprinkled a little powdered sugar on top for show. It's a nice colorful breakfast with the fruit. We used the sauce sparingly, since it was so sweet. Basically, any berry can be substituted for the strawberries. I didn't have enough raspberries for the sauce the third time around, so I threw in a few blackberries to have 1 cup total. Still came out wonderful. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I am not a sweets fan in the morning but I made this for a group of soccer players for part of a brunch and they loved it! I used ff half and half and low fat cream cheese and it was still great. I did add 1 t. each of vanilla and cinammon and 1/4 t. of nutmeg to the egg mixture. I also used more fresh strawberries than called for- maybe 2 cups in the casserole and 1-1/2 cups in the sauce. The recipe indicated a 1 hour cooking time but mine took about 1hour 15 minute. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I also made this for a church brunch and used Texas toast bread. Everyone loved it and barely a serving came home. I felt with the extra thick slices it could've used more egg mixture but it was still delicious. I also used Truvia baking blend because I do not eat sugar as a rule, just a lifestyle choice, since I have a tendency to put on weight. Will definitely make this again, trying different berries or a combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanAtch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
This was a great recipe. I made it for my inlaws for Mother's Day brunch. After reading many of the reviews, I made a few adjustments as well. I added more strawberries, just over 2 cups. I only used 1 block of cream cheese, which I found sufficient. I used a loaf of Italian bread. I added some cinnamon and some vanilla to the egg mixture. The only issue I came across was the cook time. After cooking for an hour, the center was still pretty runny. I cooked it for another 15-20 minutes and it was just great. Everyone loved it. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
this is a great recipe, you can also use blueberries instead of strawberries, and do a blackberry sauce, my husband loved it this way, thanks for sharing, I love the strawberry recipe too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This was wonderful!!! I used 4 extra pieces of bread, and 1 1/2 cream cheese instead of 2 full, also10 extra minutes covered and an extra 10 minutes uncovered, also doubled the strawberries for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chandra Baron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Very good but wish I would have read some of the reviews about the breads and less cream cheese. I used your basic white bread and it turned out on the mushy side and that was still with additional bake time if approximate 20 more. I might also consider adding maybe a splash of vanilla and a little sugar to the egg mixture next time and leaving the sauce off completely and just substituting with a small amount of strawberry syrup if still needed. Recipe is fine as is though just use a firmer type bread and maybe 1/2 the amount of cream cheese just due to my preference. Happy eating its a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tiffanya
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I made this dish substituting half the bread with cinnamon swirl bread from pepperidge farm and also added 1tbsp vanilla extract to mix. I agree with previous reviews in that the cream doesn't melt too well. I tried the 1/2" cubes but still didn't melt all the way. I would in the future only use 1 - 8oz pack of the cream cheese or even try the spreadable like another person suggested. The sauce was amazing! Will definitely be trying the sauce for other future breakfast or desert dishes. Also it's best to let the dish cool like lasagna prior to serving it, or else it will be like mush trying to serve. Great idea for a big family breakfast/brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This was magnificent - we substituted raspberries for strawberries. Everyone ate till they were ready to burst. A new Easter tradition is born!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Creme Brulee French Toast

See how to make a rich, puffy, custardy French toast.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States