Strawberry Cream Cheese French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I have not tried this recipe yet, however the photo looked so delicious, I'm still licking my lips. Taste test very, very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I just made this yesterday for Easter brunch. I followed the recipe completely. It was one of the worst dishes I have ever served and I'm sorry I didn't make it ahead of time before serving it to my guests. There is way too much cream cheese, the bread got soggy and the sauce is so sweet it is sickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Fantastic!! Rave reviews from family and friends at Easter Brunch. Easy to prepare. I used one loaf of challah bread and I also only used ONE package of cream cheese. It was the right amount of sweetness. Everyone should try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Loved this! I tried this for Christmas morning for my family and everyone raved about it. Tried it with the full amount of cream cheese and then again for half the amount and preferred the half because it was difficult to get the cream cheese to melt. Because we don't often have strawberries in season here, I found the sauce didn't have enough "strawberry taste" so I now mix half softened frozen strawberries in with the sliced fresh and it gives it that great berry taste. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I didn't use strawberries in this because I don't have fresh and although I thought I had some in the freezer, I couldn't find them when I went to make this. So, I subbed cranberries, which made this much more tart than planned, I'm sure. I didn't make the sauce--I thought about it, but decided to use just regular syrup (hubs used Karo syrup) to cut the tartness of the cranberries, and that made it perfectly sweet. The sauce would've been too sweet for me even with the tartness of the cranberries, although hubs might not have minded. This is more of a bread pudding to us, and although it's good, did take a bit longer than stated--and I made a half batch in an 8x8 pan. It took about 1 hour 15 minutes to cook through. We did like this but thought the cream cheese needs some modifications. Perhaps we wouldn't think this if I'd made the sauce, but I'm not a fan of making sauces to top, and I think I would prefer mixing cream cheese with sugar and vanilla, using that as a layer, and then going from there. I did add vanilla and cinnamon to the egg mixture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Delicious for breakfast or even desert, with just a few tweeks for my taste. I use just one pkg cream cheese & cut into smaller cubes (1/2" or less). Use only 11 eggs & add 1 teaspoon cinnamon & 1 tablespoon vanilla to egg mixture. Use French or Italian bread & double strawberries in the sauce. It was a big hit with my family. Also tried the blueberry one & it's good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenna
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Only one thing I can say... AMAZING!!!! Ps I added a bit of cinnamon to the egg mixture because what is french toast without cinnamon?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I have made this recipe three times now. First time, made it with strawberries and based on other reviews here, half the amount of cream cheese called for in the recipe. YUMMY! I can't imagine how rich it would be with twice that amount of cream cheese...seems excessive. Second time, used raspberries in place of the strawberries. YUMMY! Third time, swapped out the cream cheese with mascarpone cheese and it was AMAZING. It was lighter than the cream cheese and brought out the flavor of the fruit. Before serving, I just sprinkled a little powdered sugar on top for show. It's a nice colorful breakfast with the fruit. We used the sauce sparingly, since it was so sweet. Basically, any berry can be substituted for the strawberries. I didn't have enough raspberries for the sauce the third time around, so I threw in a few blackberries to have 1 cup total. Still came out wonderful. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I am not a sweets fan in the morning but I made this for a group of soccer players for part of a brunch and they loved it! I used ff half and half and low fat cream cheese and it was still great. I did add 1 t. each of vanilla and cinammon and 1/4 t. of nutmeg to the egg mixture. I also used more fresh strawberries than called for- maybe 2 cups in the casserole and 1-1/2 cups in the sauce. The recipe indicated a 1 hour cooking time but mine took about 1hour 15 minute. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I also made this for a church brunch and used Texas toast bread. Everyone loved it and barely a serving came home. I felt with the extra thick slices it could've used more egg mixture but it was still delicious. I also used Truvia baking blend because I do not eat sugar as a rule, just a lifestyle choice, since I have a tendency to put on weight. Will definitely make this again, trying different berries or a combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanAtch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Overnight Blueberry French Toast

Make this delicious brunch dish for a holiday, or any special occasion.

Raspberry Cheesecake Stuffed French Toast

Special French toast stuffed with raspberry puree and cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States