Strawberry Cream Cheese Clouds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I personally think that the filling tastes much better in mini-graham crusts (buy in the grocer's baking section). The puff-pastries don't have much flavor. I made half of the filling recipe to fill 8 mini-pies. I pre-baked the shells for 5 minutes after brushing them with an egg white. These are very rich and filling. I thought these were very easy to make, had a cute presentation (with mint-sprigs as garnish) & a nice dessert for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2002
This was supper easy and really good. I was looking for a strawberry pie recipe which had the cream cheese layer and found this instead. It is like a strawberry creampuff. My family raved. I also made only half the recipe and it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Danielle
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I just made and ate one of these strawberry clouds and I have high hopes my guests tonight will like them as much as I did. I found the frozen pastry puffs near the waffles and the brand was peppridge farm. I noticed they make flat sheets as well and a cake of these could be made quite easily. I followed the recipe to a T. I did not alter a thing. They taste great. Light and airy. I was able to eat the whole thing, imagine that. I could have had another to be honest. This is a great summer dessert and we are pairing it with steak and asparagus. I am also serving a guac. dip with chips before hand. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
WOW!! VERY IMPRESSIVE!! I made these for a small dinner party. Although there are a lot of steps to this recipe, they are all very easy and all can be done ahead. I filled the shells 4 hours ahead of serving and was pleased that they didn’t get soggy. Then to serve, I drizzled the plate with some chocolate syrup, placed the filled shell on the plate, spooned strawberries over including some of the accumulated juices, added another dollop of the cream cheese mixture, topped with the pastry top and a sprig of lemon balm! Beautiful!! I hope the picture I am posting does this justice. Trust me, this one’s a showstopper!! Oh, and very yummy too! For extra decadence, serve some additional chocolate syrup at the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
This had a bunch of steps but it came out fabulous. I did not have the puff pastry shells - so I used Dunkin Hines white cake mix to make cupcakes (I prefer it to the yellow cake mix). I did not add the sugar to the strawberries as they were already sweet! I used toffuti cream cheese to keep it non-dairy and added a couple of drops of red food coloring to the cream cheese mixture to make it pink. I followed the instructions of piping the filling and adding the strawberries, and served it right away! It really was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
Such a tasty light dessert! I had guests when I served it and it was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I made the "cloud" portion of this recipe and it was delicious with fresh strawberries! Very easy and simple too. It definitely turned out looking elegant and difficult. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2001
Much like a strawberry shortcake...only with puff pastry...and a little jazzed up since the whipped cream has the cream cheese in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Excellent. I just made these. The first time always takes longer, next time...and there WILL be a next time, it will be much quicker. I used both the puff pastry shells, which I have used before and am fond of, and the graham shell. As with a previous review, I brushed them with egg white and baked them for about 5 min. I do think the graham adds a bit more flavor, but the pastry has great presentation. The filling is really good. We pick huckleberries in my part of the country, and am always looking for recipes to use them with. Going to try it with a huckleberry topping this summer. Give this recipe a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This is a quick, easy dessert. I'm serving it this afternoon at a family BBQ. I followed the recipe exactly this time, next time I would substitute Almond Extract for all, or part, of the Vanilla Extract. The Puff Pastries are simple to make, which adds to the ease of the recipe. However, I think I will try it with homemade Cream Puffs next go around. All in all, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States