Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very tasty with one big change - drastically reduce the amount of liquid used over your berries. A 1/3c mix of lemon juice and water is PLENTY, with 2 tbsp of cornstarch and 1/2c sugar (as written). The berries will release natural juices on their own and provide plenty of sweet nectar with your strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Lisa Stancil
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I was surprised that this was so good. My 11yo son said it was the best dessert he had ever had. I served it with vanilla ice cream. I mostly made it according to directions. I doubled the cornstarch and let the glaze get very thick, it is very juicy which was perfect with the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use some frozen strawberries and am I EVER glad I picked this one...I changed it to 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water and 2 T cornstarch for the strawberries and 2 T sugar and half and half (all I had on hand) for the biscuit part...the strawberry part was NOT runny but set perfectly... and the biscuit was not to sweet but not bland at all...I cooked at 375 for 45 minutes...all I can say is PERFECTO...add a small scoop of vanilla ice cream and you're in heaven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very easy and yummy! I used whole wheat flour and a touch more milk. My advice would be to use a 2-quart dish that is deep rather than long, otherwise the topping seems a bit skimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Let me start by saying that Im pregnant so whenever I start craving a particular food, I just search for a recipe with that ingredient. How lucky I was to find this one in the strawberry section! The only thing I did different was used 4 c. strawberries instead of 3 because I had 2 bags of frozen berries and I didnt want to waste any, and I doubled the crust to accomodate a 2 1/2 quart dish and substituted Splenda for sugar. Other than that, followed the reciped and OH MY GOODNESS! I think I died and went to pregnant lady food heaven. I just made it, it is still bubbling hot and I sampled it and am now writing the review. My fiance just came up and asked if we could just share it out of the dish with 2 forks. He must have sampled it after I walked away from it! Yumm-O! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Bake65
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
AWESOME, AWESOME, AWESOME!! I did decrease the water to 1/2 cup, but that is all the changes I made. THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING THIS!!! I had never heard of strawberry cobbler up until about 10 years ago when a lady I knew made it and I have never had it since. And....WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
mmmmm This is really goood. I have to stop myself from devouring the whole thing. Definitely use ripe strawberries and try it with double cornstarch and half the water like what the other reviewers said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This was great! I used a 9X13 (3QT) dish. I trippled the topping and doubled the berries and syrup part. I also used 1/2 cup of lemon juice instead of water. Had to cook atleast 45 minutes. Was great! Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jayme C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I read the other reviews and decided to try this recipe with a few additions. I doubled the topping...next time I will add a little more heavy cream to make the dough a little softer. I doubled the cornstarch and kept the water the same and I used about 8 cups of strawberries. Here is what I learned: 1 this recipe only needs about 1/4 cup of water, 2 tbsp cornstarch, same amount of sugar...NOT cooked. Mix it cold and coat the strawberries. This will allow for the cornstarch mixture to thicken with the extra juice from the berries decreasing the "runny liquid". Also I increased the cooking time to about 45 minutes to allow the dough to cook all the way through. I added some Rodelle Vanilla to the dough. The topping was very good and the strawberry part was good as well. I will make this again, however will use the following: 1/4 cup lemon juice instead of water, will not cook the cornstarch/sugar/lemon juice mix. Thank you for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States