Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Great recipe, although I made a few changes: 1) 1/3 cup water and 2 tablespoons cornstarch, as mentioned by another reviewer; a full cup of water is unnecessary for doing the initial reduction. 2) 2 tablespoons instead of 1 tablespoon sugar for the breading dough. 3) Fully melt the butter that's added to make the dough. Turned out perfect! UPDATE: On a subsequent try, I found that by adding more cream to the batter so that it wasn't like a tough dough made it easier to spread over the fruit, and it turned out flakier and yummier in the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
OMG.....Fantastic.....followed the recipe pretty much as written....did make a bit more topping per other reviews..served with butter pecan ice cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Delicious way to use fresh local strawberries! It was a little soupy/runny, so next time I'll try the suggestions of other reviewers. I patted out the cobbler topping to make a thin crust that covered the whole thing and sprinkled it with sugar before baking. So yummy and can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I wasn't too happy with this. It was tasty but extremely soupy. I may try to make it once more and will either cut back on the liquid or add cornstarch. The topping is sparse as written, as well. I would double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was delicious! Besides using only half cup of water, I followed the recipe exactly. Everyone loved it! I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was FANTASTIC!! I read all the reviews and made the following changes based on those reviews. 2 tablespoons of cornstarch, juice of 1/2 lemon and water to equal 1/2 cup liquid & 4 cups of sliced strawberrys. I cooked the sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice/water mixture until it was extremely thick and then mixed in the strawberrys. I had to add about 1 additional tablespoon of the heavy whipping cream to get all the dry combined. Baked it for 40 minutes at 400 degrees. When it cooled, served with ice cream. It was not runny at all and was delicious. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale Heights, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Agree with suggestions to cut the water in half. Used 1/2 cup water and 4 cups strawberries. Outstanding and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Excellent! Excellent! I also only used 1/2 cup liquid (1/4 c water + 1/4 lemon juice) with the cornstarch mixture and it was perfect! Mine only took barely 20 min to bake! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWIMYFISH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Scrumptious! Tasted like a warm strawberry pop-tart (yes, that's a good thing). I followed others' advice and used 1/2 cup water, 2 TBS cornstarch and an extra cup of strawberries in the filling. I also doubled the crust and used double the sugar called for in that. Lastly, I sprinkled the top with sugar before baking. I used an 8x8 pan and it bubbled over a bit (and I had a little extra crust dough) but it was very yummy. My family DEVOURED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I did not like this. My husband thought it was ok. I did what was suggested about cutting the liquid but it was still very runny. I also had to cook it longer the crust was still doughy. Don't think I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Living In: Northwood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States