Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Photo by pworsley
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I decided to use this recipe after purchasing a flat of strawberries over the weekend. I made a couple of changes to it by adding two tablespoons of cornstarch, and instead of water I used a 1/4 cup of lemon juice like with all other fresh berry cobblers I've made. For the crust I used milk instead of cream so it wouldnt be as rich. I must say this is the best cobbler I have eaten in years!!! The lemon juice adds a balance to the sweetness caused by the sugar and berries. Not overpowering, not tart. This is the closest I have come in years to a recipe that was like my grandmothers. A definite REPEAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
222 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pworsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallulah, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
Tried for the first time this weekend. Wonderful recipe! I also used only 1/2 cup of water, glad I did. I used 4 cups of strawberries and baked it in a 9x9 inch pan. I might add 1 more cup of strawberries next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
i subed frozen strawberries for fresh by thawing them partially and marming in syrup on stove top for a min before pouring into dish. I was told it was the best strawberry cobbler that my father ever had and it is his favorite desert so this one gets 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Loved (sadly my family did not...). Made it three times, two of which with appples instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I added half the amount of water, extra cornstarch, and doubled the strawberries. It was excellent, and definitely NOT watery. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was my first cobbler and I loved it, almost at the whole thing in one sitting. Way to ruin a diet but I'll be sure to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tazewell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
This is sooooo delicious!. The crust is creamy and soft. It melts in your mouth. I will recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I thought this would be a good way to use up some extra strawberries since we like cobblers. However, I just don't care for the cooked strawberries. They seem to be too mushy for me. I threw away the leftovers. Guess I'll stick to strawberry preserves and pies from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2004
I followed this recipe to the "T" and WOW!! This cobbler was delicious! My family really enjoyed this. Every bite was eaten tonight, leaving us without left overs. This recipe takes a close second to my Mom's recipe which tops my list...of course I could just be biased. :) In any case, I will be saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
A very good dessert. One change I did make when I made it the 2nd time was to cut the water down to a 1/2 cup b/c it can get a little runny. All in all a nice treat! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States