Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Great comfort food. Delicious and easy, quickly in the oven in just minutes. Also, easily versatile for using other fruits or berries. I used half the water, and double the amount of cornstarch. I also added a few drops of red food coloring for more vivid color. I also sprinkled the biscuit topping with demerara sugar. It worked out perfectly. Next time however, I plan to up the sugar to 1-1/2 T. and reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. I found the topping could have been a little sweeter and at the same time I detected the salt more than I liked. All around, a delicious, homespun dessert. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
this recipe was terrific i used Strawberries and kiwi. i am watching my sugar so a note to others this tranlates wonderfully to a no sugar dessert, just use splenda instead of sugar. I also used whole wheat flour and Low fat milk instaed of cream. Still makes a wonderful crust. I will make this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I wouldn't change a thing! I did not have any heavy cream so I added a tablespoon of shortening and used 2% milk and the biscuit topping was perfect. I used frozen whole strawberries. This is perfect with vanilla ice cream because the liquid makes a great topping for the ice cream! Just like my Mamaw used to make when I was growing up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I stuck to the recipe and it turned out really well. Any berry or berry combo would work with this. It was best warm from the oven as the topping lost its crispness with time. I like the bread part so I might double that part next time. I will make it again and try differant berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notyouraveragegranny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
I made a few changes to this recipe, based on the suggestions of other reviewers, and it turned out very good. I used four pounds of strawberries, and instead of the cup of water in the recipe, I used the juice from one lemon. I tossed the strawberries with the lemon juice, a cup of sugar (I would use a bit more next time, maybe 1.5 cups), and about two and a half tablespoon of cornstarch. I doubled all the ingredients for the topping. I baked it at 400 for 25 minutes, but 22 or 23 would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
I followed other reviews by decreasing the amount of water (1/2 cup) and increasing the amount of berries (to cover the bottom of a 9x13 pan). I will continue to decrease the amount of water but next time I will double the cornstarch. The biscuits where perfect. Love the texture and flavor. Just wish that the juices had been a bit thicker. Overall a very good recipe that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This was so good! Strawberries were on sale at the market so I bought a few pounds and tried this recipe. I did change a few things -- I used 3 lbs of strawberries. I used 1/4 c. lemon juice instead of the water to add a little tartness -- strawberries have such a high water content anyway they would have been swimming if more water is added. Next time I may just toss the strawberries in the sugar and cornstarch before baking. As it was there was a good amount of strawberry juice at the bottom of the cobbler. As per other suggestions, I will double the cornstarch when I make this again because it was more juice than syrup. The dough tasted very much like buttermilk biscuit dough. I added some raw sugar on top for texture and a bit of added sweetness. I used skim milk for the dough as it is all I had on hand. My husband and I both loved it served hot with some whipped cream on top. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
yummy idea- can't believe i've never made cobbler with strawberries before! but, i like a really buttery sugary rich topping on my cobbler, and this was more like a biscuit topping. it turned out really yummy if that's what you're looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Excellent!!! I followed the suggestion of doubling the corn starch and halving the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Eleanor, you have great recipes! I read all the reviews & made a few changes. I used 2 lbs. of berries, 1 c. sugar, 2 T. cornstarch, & 1 c. water. (this amount of berries is about 6 c. whole berries.) The result was still too watery & a tad sweet. (I guess my berries were sweet to begin with!) The dough I kept the same, but I had to add a lot of cream to get it to not be too stiff.) I think next time I will up the ratio of dough & use half & half. A 9x9 pan works great. The crust is yummy & I would like a little more! I would also slice the strawberries next time. YUM! I am so full right now!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States