Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pworsley
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
I decided to use this recipe after purchasing a flat of strawberries over the weekend. I made a couple of changes to it by adding two tablespoons of cornstarch, and instead of water I used a 1/4 cup of lemon juice like with all other fresh berry cobblers I've made. For the crust I used milk instead of cream so it wouldnt be as rich. I must say this is the best cobbler I have eaten in years!!! The lemon juice adds a balance to the sweetness caused by the sugar and berries. Not overpowering, not tart. This is the closest I have come in years to a recipe that was like my grandmothers. A definite REPEAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pworsley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallulah, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Great comfort food. Delicious and easy, quickly in the oven in just minutes. Also, easily versatile for using other fruits or berries. I used half the water, and double the amount of cornstarch. I also added a few drops of red food coloring for more vivid color. I also sprinkled the biscuit topping with demerara sugar. It worked out perfectly. Next time however, I plan to up the sugar to 1-1/2 T. and reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. I found the topping could have been a little sweeter and at the same time I detected the salt more than I liked. All around, a delicious, homespun dessert. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2004
This cobbler was great! After reading the other reviews, I also cut the water to 1/2 cup and it worked just fine. I made it once with 4 cups of berries and a second time with 6 cups of berries, and both were fine. The one change I did make, is that I substituted "Splenda Granular" for all of the sugar, because my husband is a diabetic. It turned out great both times... you'd never know that it wasn't real sugar in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very tasty with one big change - drastically reduce the amount of liquid used over your berries. A 1/3c mix of lemon juice and water is PLENTY, with 2 tbsp of cornstarch and 1/2c sugar (as written). The berries will release natural juices on their own and provide plenty of sweet nectar with your strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
I read what others have said about the cobbler being runny, but I like lots of juice and made it according to the recipe. I think the problem is that the juice is not thick enough, so next time I will add more cornstarch. I didn't have heavy cream so I used skim milk in the topping and it still came out fine. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
Very easy to make! I doubled the recipe (roughly - I had 8 cups of berries instead of 6, and I decreased the water by 1/2 cup because of another review that said there was too much juice) and baked it in a 4 quart Corningwear dish. It turned out delicious and I will definately make this again! I will, however, reduce the water even more next time, maybe doubling all of the ingredients except the glaze. Even though I reduced the water by 1/2 cup, there was still quite a bit of liquid at the bottom of the dish - which would be lovely if you were serving this with ice cream becaus eyou could spoon it over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2000
I've been looking for this recipe for years! It tastes just like the one served at our local family restaurant($4.00 per serving!!) NOw I can make it at home. The topping is so delicious - I have never been able to find a recipe that tastes the same. It is crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. My whole family loved it. Try it with cherry pie filling if your pressed for time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This is AMAZING! Perfect with fresh strawberries. I doubled ALL ingredients with the EXCEPTION of the water...I only added 1/2 c. with 6 cups of berries, etc...and it is awfully 'juicy'! But OH SO GOOD with Vanilla Ice Cream. I highly recommend that you serve this with the Vanilla Ice Cream and definately spoon some of the juices over the ice cream. My entire family (kids aged 5 to 18) all thoroughly enjoyed this. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This recipe is very tasty! The filling had a great taste, and it turned nice and pink as the cobbler baked. I did not have the ingredients to make the crust so I made my own quick cobbler crust. Melt 1 stick butter in casserole dish in oven. Combine 1 cup milk, 1 cup self-rising flour, and 1 cup sugar and pour over melted butter. Spoon fruit mixture on top. The crust rises to the top as it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2001
Decent recipe, but in my opinion it needs more strawberries (VERY ripe), and double the crust mixture. Also, sprinkle sugar on top of the cobbler before baking. Mine wasn't very sweet, but that could have been because the strawberries weren't too ripe...Not bad, and I'll probably try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States