Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Fantastic! I agree with others that this is a little on the "juicy" side, but this might have to do with ripeness of one's strawberries as anything else. I used about 1/2 cup water plus 1/4 cup freshly-squeezed lemon juice, plus I added some zest from the lemons to the water/juice/sugar/cornstarch mix. without the lemon this probably would've been too sweet for our family. Crust came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
We loved it! This has just the strawberry taste I've been hankering for. It tastes far better than what goes as strawberry short cake. I'm planning to sub out the heavy cream for half and half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breena Clarke
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was wonderful. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream and had no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenP79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Excellent easy recipe. Took only about 10mins. to prepare and had all of the ingredients on hand since most are commonly found in all kitchens. Tasted wonderful with whipped topping. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shanna Sarr
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Very tasty with one big change - drastically reduce the amount of liquid used over your berries. A 1/3c mix of lemon juice and water is PLENTY, with 2 tbsp of cornstarch and 1/2c sugar (as written). The berries will release natural juices on their own and provide plenty of sweet nectar with your strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Sarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Lisa Stancil
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
This is DELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
I was surprised that this was so good. My 11yo son said it was the best dessert he had ever had. I served it with vanilla ice cream. I mostly made it according to directions. I doubled the cornstarch and let the glaze get very thick, it is very juicy which was perfect with the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I was looking for a recipe to use some frozen strawberries and am I EVER glad I picked this one...I changed it to 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup water and 2 T cornstarch for the strawberries and 2 T sugar and half and half (all I had on hand) for the biscuit part...the strawberry part was NOT runny but set perfectly... and the biscuit was not to sweet but not bland at all...I cooked at 375 for 45 minutes...all I can say is PERFECTO...add a small scoop of vanilla ice cream and you're in heaven...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very easy and yummy! I used whole wheat flour and a touch more milk. My advice would be to use a 2-quart dish that is deep rather than long, otherwise the topping seems a bit skimpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by badbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Let me start by saying that Im pregnant so whenever I start craving a particular food, I just search for a recipe with that ingredient. How lucky I was to find this one in the strawberry section! The only thing I did different was used 4 c. strawberries instead of 3 because I had 2 bags of frozen berries and I didnt want to waste any, and I doubled the crust to accomodate a 2 1/2 quart dish and substituted Splenda for sugar. Other than that, followed the reciped and OH MY GOODNESS! I think I died and went to pregnant lady food heaven. I just made it, it is still bubbling hot and I sampled it and am now writing the review. My fiance just came up and asked if we could just share it out of the dish with 2 forks. He must have sampled it after I walked away from it! Yumm-O! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New York, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States