Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Definitely needs 2 tablespoons of cornstarch. We thought this was good, but we prefer a sweeter cobbler with a crispier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
I have made this recipe several times and found it to be very good but very runny. I followed the advice of other reviewers and doubled the recipe except for the water which remains 1 cup. It was perfect. I also sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon on top of the crust. It is wonderful with ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
VERY EASY AND GOOD. TO GIVE FLAVOR A PUNCH I USED MORE SUGAR IN BOTH FRUIT AND DOUGH AND ADDED LIQUOR IN FRUIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2004
This cobbler was great! After reading the other reviews, I also cut the water to 1/2 cup and it worked just fine. I made it once with 4 cups of berries and a second time with 6 cups of berries, and both were fine. The one change I did make, is that I substituted "Splenda Granular" for all of the sugar, because my husband is a diabetic. It turned out great both times... you'd never know that it wasn't real sugar in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2004
This recipe is very tasty! The filling had a great taste, and it turned nice and pink as the cobbler baked. I did not have the ingredients to make the crust so I made my own quick cobbler crust. Melt 1 stick butter in casserole dish in oven. Combine 1 cup milk, 1 cup self-rising flour, and 1 cup sugar and pour over melted butter. Spoon fruit mixture on top. The crust rises to the top as it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairhope, Alabama, USA
Living In: Daphne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
I love this dish! I think the heavy cream makes all this difference. I also cut the water in half due to suggestions, and I would venture to cut even more out. The dough tasted great raw, too, but that just could be because I'm pregnant :) The finished product drizzled with cream is outstanding. I'll be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
Never thought I could make a cobbler but Boy was this easy and so delicious. I was just about to throw out a whole big basket of strawberries that weren't too sweet then I thought to look on ALLRECIPES to make use of them. So glad I did. With this recipe strawberries have taken on a whole new meaning. I also used less water as the other readers suggested. My husband suggested trying blueberries next time. Can't see why not!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2004
For some reason this turned out MUCH too salty. It was also pretty gloppy and runny. It tasted okay, but I don't think I'll be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2003
This is AMAZING! Perfect with fresh strawberries. I doubled ALL ingredients with the EXCEPTION of the water...I only added 1/2 c. with 6 cups of berries, etc...and it is awfully 'juicy'! But OH SO GOOD with Vanilla Ice Cream. I highly recommend that you serve this with the Vanilla Ice Cream and definately spoon some of the juices over the ice cream. My entire family (kids aged 5 to 18) all thoroughly enjoyed this. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I doubled the recipe and should have reduced the water as others did. Flavor was great, though. I will make it again, only with less water and maybe a little more sugar. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Fresh Cherry Cobbler

See how to make a simple cherry cobbler using fresh not canned cherries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States