Strawberry Cobbler I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I read the other reviews and decided to try this recipe with a few additions. I doubled the topping...next time I will add a little more heavy cream to make the dough a little softer. I doubled the cornstarch and kept the water the same and I used about 8 cups of strawberries. Here is what I learned: 1 this recipe only needs about 1/4 cup of water, 2 tbsp cornstarch, same amount of sugar...NOT cooked. Mix it cold and coat the strawberries. This will allow for the cornstarch mixture to thicken with the extra juice from the berries decreasing the "runny liquid". Also I increased the cooking time to about 45 minutes to allow the dough to cook all the way through. I added some Rodelle Vanilla to the dough. The topping was very good and the strawberry part was good as well. I will make this again, however will use the following: 1/4 cup lemon juice instead of water, will not cook the cornstarch/sugar/lemon juice mix. Thank you for a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChrysintheKitchen
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
I have made this twice, the first time using a couple of suggestions by other members, such as doubling the cornstarch. I also replaced 1/4 of the water with the juice from a freshly squeezed lemon. The second time, rather than using fresh strawberries, I used frozen strawberries, raspberries, björnberries, and blueberries to make a berry cobbler. I defrosted the berries first and used 1/4 cup of bottled lime juice instead of lemon that I used previously. I also replaced some of the white flour for spelt flour to make it SLIGHTLY healthier. It did not detract from the taste at all. Thinking about it, I may make it again tonight! A note about cooking times, I didn't keep it in the oven the whole time. Make sure that the dough is evenly spread at the top, not too thick in any one place, and wait for it to turn a nice golden brown. Should be ready by then as you should see the bubbling of the berry mixture through the dough and around the edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This was not to our liking. It was way too runny and the topping was crunchy on top and doughy on the bottom. I think if I made this again, I would use twice as much cornstarch to thicken, alot more sugar in dough, and cook on lower temp for 30 min. Sorry, I just had expected alot more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
delicious! I have never made a cobbler before but by my husband's request I made him this one. The only change I made was the crust but the filling turned out great! Thank you so much for a great recipe that we will be enjoying time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaelp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I am a diabetic, with a bad sweet tooth, I made this with Splenda, sauce thickened up nicely, used Splenda in the dough as well. The finished product was a little runny as some of the other folks had experienced but the finished product was just as good as one made with real sugar I had tried several years ago. Thumbs up from me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Loved it. Very tasty and a great way to use up all the strawberries I bought since they were on sale. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Great flavor and easy to prepare. I took the advice of others and increased the cornstarch to 2 tbs and used 2% milk in place of the whipping cream. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Delicious. I used frozen strawberries, increased the sugar a little, added quite a bit more cornstarch, and used lemon juice instead of water per another user's suggestion. I also sprinkled brown sugar on the top after 15 minutes. Next time I'll make more topping. My husband and I both enjoyed it and will probably eat the leftovers for breakfast tomorrow morning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luvmykids
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
My family loves just about anything made with strawberries so I had to try this :) My one complaint is that the strawberry mixture was more watery than I thought it would be and I even doubled the cornstarch. Other than that it was very good. I sprinkled sugar on top of the biscuit mixture before baking and served it with vanilla ice cream. Hubby had seconds...always a sign of approval :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvmykids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
a great recipe for cobbler.I made it for Thanksgiving, and every one loved it! I added a small bag of frozen cherries to it, and made a little extra crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Absinthe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States